The World Food Prize Foundation

2014 Chrystal Award Winner

Insert picture here

Tariro Makoni of Minot, North Dakota, was awarded the John Chrystal Award during the World Food Prize Laureate Ceremony on October 16, 2014 at the Iowa State Capitol in Des Moines.

She received the Chrystal Award for her outstanding work as a 2013 Borlaug-Ruan International Intern at the International Crops Research Institute for the Semi-Arid Tropics (ICRISAT) in Patancheru, India. While abroad, she conducted a research study to determine whether the nutritional scheme of the Integrated Child Development Services (ICDS), India's primary social welfare scheme to tackle malnutrition and health problems in pre-primary age children, is beneficial towards childhood growth on a micro-level. The study presented ground level insights on the ICDS nutritional implementation, gender roles, and prevalent nutritional trends in the village Aurepalle. 

A graduate of Our Redeemers Christian School, Tariro attends John Hopkins University where she is majoring in International Development and Global Health.

The John Chrystal Award was established in 2001 in the spirit of John Chrystal's commitment to enriching Iowa's relationship with the world and his belief that everyone is entitled to a sense of dignity and adequate food. The award is presented annually to the intern who most strongly reflects Mr. Chrystal’s commitment.

Tariro was selected as a Borlaug-Ruan International Intern after representing her high school at the World Food Prize Global Youth Institute in 2012. The Global Youth Institute provides high school students the opportunity to interact with Nobel and World Food Prize Laureates, connect with other student leaders from around the world, tour cutting-edge industrial and research facilities, and discuss pressing food security and agricultural issues with global leaders in science, industry and policy. 

Tariro received her award prior to the awarding of the 2014 World Food Prize to distinguished scientist — Dr. Sanjaya Rajaram of India and Mexico.




© 2024 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.