The World Food Prize Foundation

2020-2023 Laureates

2023 | Heidi Kühn 

United States

Heidi Kühn of the United States received the 2023 World Food Prize for her farmer-focused development model that revitalizes farmland, food security, livelihoods and resilience after devastating conflict. For more than two decades, she has shown more than a million people living in war-torn regions around the world a way forward for restoring... more

2022 | Dr. Cynthia Rosenzweig

United States

Dr. Cynthia Rosenzweig of the United States received the 2022 World Food Prize for her seminal contributions to understanding and predicting the impacts of the interaction between climate and food systems. Through designing and leading rigorous, collaborative observational and modeling...more


2021 | Dr. Shakuntala Haraksingh Thilsted

Trinidad & Tobago/Denmark

Dr. Shakuntala Haraksingh Thilsted, native of Trinidad and Tobago and a citizen of Denmark, received the 2021 World Food Prize for her groundbreaking research, critical insights and landmark innovations in developing holistic, nutrition-sensitive approaches to aquaculture and food systems. By bringing together... more

2020 | Dr. Rattan Lal 

India/United States

Dr. Rattan Lal, native of India and a citizen of the United States, will receive the 2020 World Food Prize for developing and mainstreaming a soil-centric approach to increasing food production that restores and conserves natural resources and mitigates climate change... more



© 2024 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.