The World Food Prize Foundation

2010-2019 Laureates

2019 | Simon N. Groot

The Netherlands

Simon N. Groot of the Netherlands recieved the 2019 World Food Prize for his transformative role in empowering millions of smallholder farmers in more than 60 countries to earn greater incomes through enhanced vegetable production, benefitting  hundreds of millions of consumers with greater access to nutritious vegetables... more

2018 | Dr. Lawrence Haddad & David Nabarro 

United Kingdom/South Africa and United Kingdom/United Nations

Dr. Lawrence Haddad and Dr. David Nabarro received the World Food Prize for their individual and complementary leadership in elevating maternal and child undernutrition to a central issue within the food security and development dialogue...more


2017 | Dr. Akinwumi Adesina


Dr. Akinwumi Adesina, the President of the African Development Bank (AfDB), received the 2017 World Food Prize. Through his roles over the past two decades with the Rockefeller Foundation, at the Alliance for a Green Revolution in Africa (AGRA), and as Minister of Agriculture of Nigeria, Dr. Adesina has been at the forefront of galvanizing political will to transform African agriculture .. more

2016 | Dr. Maria Andrade, Dr. Robert Mwanga, Dr. Jan Low, Dr. Howarth Bouis 

Cape Verde, Uganda, United States, United States

Dr. Andrade, Dr. Mwanga, Dr. Low, and Dr. Bouis received the 2016 World Food Prize for their development and implementation of biofortification, breeding critical vitamins and nutrients into staple crops, thereby dramatically reducing "hidden hunger" ... more

2015 | Sir Fazle Hasan Abed


Sir Fazle Hasan Abed of Bangladesh, the internationally renowned founder and chairperson of BRAC, will be honored as the 2015 World Food Prize Laureate for his unparalleled achievement in building a unique, integrated development organization that many have hailed as the most effective anti-poverty organization in the world...more

2014 | Dr. Sanjaya Rajaram


The eminent plant scientist Dr. Sanjaya Rajaram, born in India and a citizen of Mexico, will be honored as the 2014 World Food Prize Laureate for his scientific research that led to a prodigious increase in world wheat production – by more than 200 million tons – building upon the successes of the Green Revolution...more

2013 | Dr. Marc Van Montagu, Dr. Mary-Dell Chilton, and Dr. Robert T. Fraley

Belgium, United States, United States

The research of the 2013 Laureates is making it possible for farmers to grow crops with: improved yields; resistance to insects and disease; and the ability to tolerate extreme variations in climate...more

2012 | Dr. Daniel Hillel


The 2012 World Food Prize will be awarded to Dr. Daniel Hillel for conceiving and implementing a radically new mode of bringing water to crops i­­n arid and dry land regions - known as “micro-irrigation.”Dr. Hillel’s pioneering scientific work in Israel...more

2011 | John Agyekum Kufuor & Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva

Ghana & Brazil

John Agyekum Kufuor and Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva have been chosen to jointly receive the 2011 World Food Prize for their personal commitment and visionary leadership while serving as the presidents of Ghana and of Brazil...more

2010 | Dr. David Beckmann & Jo Luck

United States

David Beckmann and Jo Luck are receiving the 2010 World Food Prize for their landmark achievements in building Bread for the World and Heifer International into two of ...more

© 2024 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.