The World Food Prize Foundation

World Food Prize Events

The World Food Prize holds various events throughout the year, including:


The Laureate Announcement Ceremony

This event is held annually in June to announce the winner of the prestigious World Food Prize. The event is held at the U.S. State Department in Washington D.C., bringing increased awareness and attention to the issues of global food security, agriculture and science. Recent speakers at the event have included U.S. Secretary of State Hillary Clinton, U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack and U.S. Agency for International Development Administrator Rajiv Shah, among others.


The Norman E. Borlaug International Symposium

 This event is held each year in conjunction with the awarding of the World Food Prize in Des Moines, Iowa. Known as the "Borlaug Dialogue," this three-day conference brings together international experts, policy leaders, business executives and farmers to address cutting-edge issues in food security and nutrition. The event attracts over 1,500 participants from more than 60 countries, and it has been called "the premier conference in the world on global agriculture." For details about the upcoming symposium and access to past agendas, videos and transcripts, click here


The World Food Prize Laureate Award Ceremony

This event is held in the magnificent Iowa State Capitol building in Des Moines, Iowa. The ceremony rivals that of the Nobel Prize, drawing over 800 international guests. Each year, world-class performers take the stage to honor the World Food Prize Laureate, and the event is televised and webcast live. Past performers have included Ray Charles, John Denver, Chachi Tadesse, Kathak Gunjan, the Tokyo String Quartet, and Achinoam Nini (Noa). Following the Ceremony, the celebration continues at the Laureate Award Dinner, held in the Capitol rotunda. Learn more about past events here.


The Iowa Hunger Summit

This one-day, grassroots event is free and open to the public, and highlights efforts in Iowa to alleviate hunger both at home and abroad. The event is typically  held the day before the Borlaug Dialogue in Des Moines, Iowa, and includes workshops, keynote speakers from around the country, a hunger banquet featuring food used by hunger-fighting organizations, and an announcement  tallying Iowa's annual contribution to the fight against hunger. Learn more at

© 2016 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.