The World Food Prize Foundation

1987-1999 Laureates

1999 | Dr. Walter Plowright

United Kingdom

Dr. Walter Plowright was recognized with the 1999 World Food Prize for his development of tissue culture rinderpest vaccine (TCRV), the key element in the quest to eliminate rinderpest...more

1998 | B.R. Barwale


The 1998 recipient of the World Food Prize, Badrinarayan Ramulal Barwale, has literally transformed the face of Indian agriculture during the past fifty years...more

1997 | Dr. Perry L. Adkisson
& Dr. Ray F. Smith

United States

Dr. Ray F. Smith and Dr. Perry L. Adkisson, co-recipients of the 1997 World Food Prize, were among the first to note the harmful environmental and economic effects of indiscriminate synthetic... more

1996 | Henry M. Beachell
& Dr. Gurdev Singh Khush

United States, India

The "Green Revolution" in rice farming began in late 1963, at the third plant in row 288 on an experimental field operated by the International Rice Research Institute (IRRI)...more

1995 | Dr. Hans Rudolf Herren


Dr. Hans Rudolf Herren, recipient of the 1995 World Food Prize, was only 31 years old when he took a new job in Africa and landed right in the middle of an unprecedented crisis...more

1994 | Dr. Muhammad Yunus


Dr. Muhammad Yunus was chosen to receive the 1994 World Food Prize for his original approach to promoting the economic and social empowerment of the poorest citizens of...more

1993 | He Kang


The 1993 World Food Prize was awarded to He Kang, former Minister of Agriculture of the People's Republic of China, for implementing the reform policies that enabled China to become self-sufficient in basic food...more

1992 | Dr. Edward F. Knipling & Dr. Raymond Bushland

United States

The World Food Prize for 1992 recognized a team of entomologists who gave the world an environmentally friendly means of controlling insects that threaten the production of crops...more

1991 | Dr. Nevin S. Scrimshaw

United States

For a lifetime of action to alleviate malnutrition in developing nations, Dr. Nevin S. Scrimshaw received the 1991 World Food Prize. His revolutionary accomplishments over six decades in fighting protein...more

1990 | Dr. John Niederhauser

United States

Dr. John S. Niederhauser of the United States was honored with the 1990 World Food Prize for his leadership in advancing wider and more effective production...more

1989 | Dr. Verghese Kurien


The innovation for which Dr. Verghese Kurien received the 1989 World Food Prize was not a scientific discovery, but his recognition that feeding the world’s citizens includes coordinating breakthroughs...more

1988 | Dr. Robert Chandler, Jr.

United States

Dr. Robert F. Chandler, Jr., 1988 winner of the World Food Prize, was an individual whose work touched all corners of the globe, from Asia and the Far East to Africa and...more

1987 | M.S. Swaminathan


Dr. Monkombu Sambasivan Swaminathan received the first World Food Prize in 1987 for spearheading the introduction of high-yielding wheat and rice varieties to India’s farmers...more



© 2024 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.