The World Food Prize Foundation

Norman Borlaug Medallion

The Norman E. Borlaug Medallion:

Right-click to download a high-resolution image of the Borlaug Medallion

A World Food Prize honor bestowed upon exceptional world leaders and institutions

THE NORMAN E. BORLAUG MEDALLION was created to recognize world leaders and institutions whose actions have benefited mankind but who would not normally be considered for the World Food Prize, which is primarily awarded to science, policy, and development experts for a specific, exceptionally significant, individual achievement along the full range of the food production and distribution chain.

The Norman E. Borlaug Medallion was created in 2006 and has been awarded to the following:

  • His Majesty King Bhumibol Adulyadej of Thailand in 2007; 

  • Yohei Sasakawa and the Nippon Foundation of Japan in the spring of 2010;

  • Former United Nations Secretary-General Kofi Annan in September 2010;

  • The Association of Public and Land-grant Universities in June 2012;

  • The International Maize and Wheat Improvement Center (CIMMYT) March 2014;

  • Texas A&M University in November 2015;

  • University of Minnesota in 2016; 

  • The United States Department of Agriculture in 2016;

  • Strive Masiyiwa, Chair of the Alliance for a Green Revolution in Africa, in September 2019; 

  • Iowa State University in December 2019; and

  • President Louise O. Fresco and Wageningen University & Research in June 2022.


© 2024 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.