The World Food Prize Foundation

2016 Ceremony

THE 2016 WORLD FOOD PRIZE was formally awarded to Dr. Maria Andrade of Cape Verde, Dr. Robert Mwanga of Uganda, and Drs. Jan Low and Howarth Bouis of the United States, during a ceremony held at the Iowa State Capitol on October 13, 2016. The ceremony took place during the 30th Anniversary World Food Prize 2016 Borlaug Dialogue, themed “Let Food Be Thy Medicine.”

Drs. Andrade, Mwanga, Low and Bouis recieved the award for their outstanding work in biofortification, breeding critical nutrients into important staple crops, notably the orange-fleshed sweet potato, which would serve to alleviate malnutrition in millions.

Read more about the 2016 Laureates here.

2016 World Food Prize Laureate Award Ceremony

2016 Laureates (from right to left) Andrade, Mwanga, Low, and Bouis accept World Food Prize


© 2024 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.