The World Food Prize Foundation

Test Timeline


Milkman of India

Ironically, Verghese Kurien did not like drinking milk, yet he made India a nation of milk drinkers and earned himself the title "Milkman of India" due to his work in the 1970s.

Read Full Biography

1955 - 1 of 2

Worldwide Distribution

Yuan Longping's book Technology of Hybrid Rice Production, published in 1995 by the FAO, has been distributed to over 40 countries as a guiding reference for hybrid rice research, extension, and seed and grain production.

Read Full Biography

1955 - 2 of 2

Test for 1955

 Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Praesent efficitur purus viverra rhoncus viverra. Quisque consequat sollicitudin dictum. Phasellus non sodales mi. 


Evangelina Villegas

 Evangelina Villegas began her career at the International Maize and Wheat Improvement Center (CIMMYT) in Mexico where she conducted her most significant research on developing mazie with higher amino acids in order to stop malnutrition for those whose diets consist heavily of maize.


Pedro Sanchez

 From 1968 to 1971, Pedro Sanchez led a research team in Peru that produced among the highest rice yields in the world and helped the nation achieve self-sufficiency in rice.


Rattan Lal

 After graduating from the University of Sydney, Rattan Lal's career spanned four continents over five decades. When he is asked how his techniques have evolved in each country he says, “In the end though it does not matter where you are, whether it’s Asia, Australia, Africa or the Americas. The basic principle of soil and the fact that it must be protected, restored and managed judiciously is true everywhere."


Fazle Abed

 After the Bangladesh-Pakistan partition, Fazle Abed returned from England to find his homeland drowned in poverty. This inspired the humanitarian to work in uplifting the country’s economy, and he formed ‘BRAC’, an organization devoted to providing education, healthier living conditions and job opportunities to the less privileged.


Verghese Kurien

 Verghese Kurien launched "Operation Flood," a government-led undertaking that oversaw India's transformation from a net importer of milk to the world's biggest producer.


Ray F. Smith

 Beginning in 1972, Ray F. Smith was the associate director of the Huffaker Project, a project that integrated 18 universities and focused on the pest management of six major crops.


Alysson Paolinelli

 As Brazil’s Minister of Agriculture from 1974 to 1979, Paolinelli oversaw the establishment and implementation of the Brazilian Corporation of Agricultural Research (EMBRAPA) as a model research and extension institution that improved and diffused technologies for advancing modern agriculture throughout the country.


George McGovern

 George McGovern published "The McGovern Report" which listed dietary and nutritional goals with the rationale of obtaining adequate nutrients to avoid excessive intake of food. This report later inspired the "Food Pyramid" of nutrition.


John Niederhauser

 John Niederhauser established the Regional Cooperative Potato Program (PRECODEPA) in Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean. This cooperative program has grown to include 12 countries and similar programs have been established throughout the world.


Hans R. Herren

 Hans R. Herren arrived at the International Institute of Tropical Agriculture (IITA) in Nigeria to control the extensive mealybug population, which threatened millions of lives by attacking the local cassava root. He successfully controlled the species through non-chemical means, using wasps.


Perry L. Adkisson

 Perry L. Adkisson was the first person to be honored with all three of the world's major agricultural awards - Alexander von Humboldt Award (1980), Wolf Prize (1994), and the World Food Prize (1997).


Person of the Year

In 2013, Akinwumi Adesina was named the Forbes Africa Person of the Year award for his noteworthy reforms in Nigeria’s agriculture industry.

Read Full Biography

  • 1945
  • 1955
  • 1967
  • 1968
  • 1969
  • 1970
  • 1971
  • 1972
  • 1974
  • 1977
  • 1978
  • 1979
  • 1980
  • 2013

© 2024 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.