The World Food Prize Foundation

John Chrystal and Elaine Szymoniak Awards

The John Chrystal Award was established in 2000 in the spirit of John Chrystal's commitment to enriching Iowa's relationship with the world and devotion to the idea that everyone is entitled to a sense of dignity and adequate food.

A farmer, banker, public servant and political leader, John Chrystal met with farm leaders in the Soviet Union during the 1950s and 1960s and worked tirelessly to improve relations with the U.S. through cooperation in enhancing food production.

The award is presented annually to an outstanding Borlaug-Ruan International Intern at the World Food Prize Laureate Ceremony in October. The award is presented in memory of John Chrystal by his longtime friend, Pulitzer Prize Winner Michael Gartner.      

THE ELAINE SZYMONIAK AWARD is named in honor of the Iowa State Senator, Des Moines City Council Member and hearing and speech specialist known for her dedicated public service and great efforts to save the World Food Prize. Senator Szymoniak personally facilitated the connection between Dr. Norman Borlaug and John Ruan Sr. and was instrumental in having legislation crafted to fund and bring the World Food Prize to Iowa.

This award is presented annually to a Borlaug-Ruan International Intern whose fulfillment of his or her research program at an international research center best exemplifies Senator Szymoniak's commitment to meet the needs of the community and dedicated efforts to promote education, health, economic development, equality and justice.

Established in 2001, this award was originally named in honor of Roberta Ahmanson for her generous endowment of the World Food Prize Foundation's youth programs, her dedication to educating Iowa youth, and her support for her home state of Iowa. 

John Chrystal Award Winners:

2018 - Hans Riensche
2017 - Francine Barchett and Nicholas Grandstaff
2016 - Isiah Brandt
2014 - Tariro Makoni
2013 - Rachel Ganson
2012 - Anthony Wenndt
2011 - Adam Riesselman
2010 - Joe-Ann Moser & Allison Zhao
2009 - Tim Sprick
2008 - Zachary Stewart
2007 - Stephen Lauer
2006 - Rachael Cox
2005 - Anne Langguth
2004 - Megan Srinivas
2003 - Cathy Staloch
2002 - Jacqueline Johnson
2001 - Bian Li 
2000 - Matthew Feldmann & Amanda James

Elaine Szymoniak Award Winners:

2018 - Isabella Culotta
2017 - Akriti Bhattarai and Madeline Song
2016 - Precious Listana and Madeline Poole
2015 - Sam Harris and Sophie Olson
2014-  Tara Mittelberg
2013 - Elizabeth Mueller
2012 - Pavane Gorrepat
2011 - Trisha Collins
2010 - Danika Schaaf and Lauren Schefter
2009 - Lisa Cathelyn
2008 - Hemali Batra 
2007 - Diane Brown
2006 - Emma Flemmig
2005 - Penny Fang 
2004 - Rachael Collier and Addie Hall
2003 - Adrian Richardson
2002 - Gary Sullivan
2001 - Curtis O'Loughlin

© 2023 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.