The World Food Prize Foundation

2013 Ceremony

THE 2013 WORLD FOOD PRIZE was formally awarded to Dr. Marc Van Montagu of Belgium and Drs. Mary-Dell Chilton and Robert T. Fraley of the United States during a ceremony at the magnificent Iowa State Capitol on October 16, 2013. The ceremony took place during the 2013 Borlaug Dialogue, themed, "Biotechnology, Sustainability and Climate Volatility." 

These three distinguished scientists shared the 2013 World Food Prize for their independent, individual breakthrough achievements in founding, developing and applying modern agricultural biotechnology. Their research is making it possible for farmers to grow crops with: improved yields; resistance to insects and disease; and the ability to tolerate extreme variations in climate. 

Read more about the 2013 Laureates here.

2013 World Food Prize Laureate Award Ceremony

  Drs. Montagu, Chilton, and Fraley accept 2013 World Food Prize

© 2024 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.