The World Food Prize Foundation

2008 Ceremony

THE 2008 WORLD FOOD PRIZE was formally awarded to former United States Senators Robert Dole and George McGovern on October 16 at the Iowa State Capitol in Des Moines. The ceremony took place during the 2008 Borlaug Dialogue. The year's theme was " Confronting Crisis: Agriculture and Global Development in the Next Fifty Years."
Senators Dole and McGovern were honored at a ceremony attended by dignitaries and experts from more than 60 countries. Dole and McGovern were given the World Food Prize for their inspired, collaborative leadership that has encouraged a global commitment to school feeding and enhanced school attendance and nutrition for millions of the world's poorest children, especially girls. 
On a sad note, the 2008 ceremony marked the first time in the World Food Prize's history that founder and Nobel Peace Prize recipient Dr. Norman Borlaug did not attend. Although his health kept him from joining the celebration, his spirit permeated the evening. He was honored with the premiere performance of an original musical composition, "All Growing Borlaug Wheat."
The ceremony also featured two brilliant performances by Metropolitan Opera star Monica Yunus, whose father is 1994 World Food Prize Laureate Muhammad Yunus. For her final performance, Ms. Yunus was joined by two young singers from her Sing for Hope program and over 30 young girls from the Iowa Youth Chorus for a stirring rendition of "This Little Light of Mine." Each young girl held a candle that represented a million lives that have been improved by the achievements of Senators Dole and McGovern.
The Honorable Patty Judge, Lieutenant Governor of Iowa, presided over the ceremony. (See complete ceremony program)
Read more about Senators Dole and McGovern here.
2008 World Food Prize Laureate Award Ceremony

Senators Dole and McGovern accept 2008 World Food Prize 


© 2024 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.