The World Food Prize Foundation

2010 Laureate Lecture Series

2010 World Food Prize Laureate Lecture Series
Expanding the statewide dialogue on global food security and poverty reduction.

Monday, October 11 - Friday, October 15

All lectures are free and open to the public.
For more information, contact the host university or email

Monday, October 11

CANCELED: University of Iowa, Old Capitol Senate Chamber, 12:45 p.m.

2010 Laureate Jo Luck


St. Augustin Middle School, Des Moines, 1:30 p.m.

2000 Laureate Dr. Surinder Vasal


Iowa State University, Memorial Union, 8 p.m.

2010 Laureates David Beckmann and Jo Luck

 Tuesday, October 12

Wartburg College, 11:30 a.m.

2007 Laureate Dr. Philip Nelson


William Penn University, George Daily Auditorium, 1 p.m.   

World Food Prize Council Member Sir Gordon Conway


Iowa State University, College of Veterinary Science, 4 p.m.

Cornell University Vice Provost Dr. Alice Pell


Loras College, 7 p.m.  

2009 Laureate Dr. Gebisa Ejeta


Central College, 7:30 p.m.

World Food Prize Council Member Dr. Ronnie Coffman and Cornell Professor Sarah Davidson

Wednesday, October 13

Iowa Council of Social Studies Fall Conference, Ramada Inn, Merle Hay Road, 9:15 a.m. **

Former Deputy Director of UNICEF Dr. Natalie Hahn


Central Academy, Des Moines, 10 a.m.

Speaker TBA


Kemin Industries World Wide Scientific Meeting, Sheraton Hotel, West Des Moines, 10 a.m. **

2010 Laureate Jo Luck


Drake University, 4 p.m., Agricultural Law Center

World Food Prize Council Member H.E. Roberto Rodrigues


Grinnell College, 4:30 p.m.

1995 Laureate Dr. Hans Herren


Morningside College, 7:30 p.m.

1996 Laureate Dr. Gurdev Khush


2010 Laureates Forum, Des Moines Marriott Downtown, 6 p.m (NOTE: change of venue)

David Beckmann and Jo Luck

Thursday, October 14

 Grand View University, 11 a.m.

 2004 Laureate Dr. Monty Jones

Friday, October 15

Iowa State University, Kildee Hall, 12 p.m. (noon)

1987 Laureate Dr. M.S. Swaminathan

 ** Lecture open to event registrants only.

© 2024 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.