The World Food Prize Foundation

World Food Prize Announces its 2019 Laureate


U.S. Secretary of State to Host

The 2019 winner of the prestigious $250,000 World Food Prize will be announced at the U.S. Department of State in Washington, D.C. on Monday, June 10, at 9:30 a.m. EDT. Awarded by the World Food Prize Foundation, the Prize has been referred to as the “Nobel Prize for Food and Agriculture” and is the most prominent global award recognizing an individual who has enhanced human development and confronted hunger by improving the quality, quantity or availability of food in the world.

Secretary of State Michael R. Pompeo will host the World Food Prize Laureate Announcement Ceremony and Assistant Secretary of State for Economic and Business Affairs Manisha Singh will deliver opening and closing remarks. 

Ambassador Kenneth M. Quinn, president of the World Food Prize, will announce the name of the 2019 Laureate.

This event is open to the media. It will also be webcast live at and

Monday, June 10, at 9:30 a.m. EDT/ 8:30 a.m. CDT

  • Pre-set time for video cameras: 8:30 a.m. EDT from the 23rd Street entrance.
  • Final access time for writers and stills: 9 a.m. EDT from the 23rd Street entrance.

Benjamin Franklin Room at the U.S. Department of State
2201 C Street NW, Washington, D.C.

Media should enter via the 23rd Street entrance.

This event is open to the media. Media interested in attending the event should contact Nicole Barreca at

Media representatives may attend this event upon presentation of one of the following: (1) A U.S. Government-issued identification card (Department of State, White House, Congress, Department of Defense or Foreign Press Center), (2) a media-issued photo identification card, or (3) a letter from their employer on letterhead verifying their employment as a journalist, accompanied by an official photo identification card (driver's license, passport). 

ABOUT THE WORLD FOOD PRIZE: The World Food Prize is the foremost international award recognizing the achievements of individuals who have advanced human development by improving the quality, quantity or availability of food in the world. The Prize was founded in 1986 by Dr. Norman E. Borlaug, recipient of the 1970 Nobel Peace Prize. Since then, the World Food Prize has honored 48 outstanding individuals who have made vital contributions throughout the world. The World Food Prize annually hosts the Borlaug Dialogue international symposium and a variety of youth education programs to help further the discussion on cutting-edge global food security issues and inspire the next generation to end hunger.

ABOUT THE BORLAUG DIALOGUE: The Borlaug Dialogue is a three-day international symposium, which regularly draws over 1,200 people from 65 countries to discuss cutting-edge issues in global food security.  The theme for the 2019 Symposium is Pax Agricultura: Peace Through Agriculture. You can register to attend the Borlaug Dialogue at Also included in the World Food Prize week-long series of events is the Iowa Hunger Summit on October 14 and the three-day Global Youth Institute, which includes 400 participants from the U.S. and abroad and is designed to inspire the next generation of high school students to explore careers in agriculture and fighting hunger.


Twitter: @WorldFoodPrize
Facebook: /WorldFoodPrize
Hashtag: #FoodPrize19

More information, including a biography and photos of the 2019 World Food Prize Laureate, will be available online after the announcement.  

Media Inquiries for this event may be directed to:

Nicole Barreca, Director of Communications and Events 
+1.515.245.3735 (direct), +1.563.271.2995 (cell), or

Kerry Humphrey, Bureau of Economic and Business Affairs |

© 2024 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.