The World Food Prize Foundation

World Food Prize Foundation Selects 17 Students for Prestigious George Washington Carver Internship Program

07/08/2020

The World Food Prize Foundation announced today the selection of 17 students for its prestigious George Washington Carver Internship program.

Every school semester and summer, the World Food Prize Foundation selects a number of extraordinarily qualified students for its George Washington Carver (GWC) Internship program. Since its founding in 2001, the GWC Internship has impacted hundreds of students and given them the opportunity to learn about not only the operation and impact of an international non-profit organization, but also about the importance of food security. 

“One of the best parts about being a summer George Washington Carver Intern at the World Food Prize was seeing first-hand just how expansive, impressive and far-reaching the World Food Prize actually is,” said former intern Adrienne Bergman. “This organization reaches the farthest corners of the world in order to help reduce world hunger and improve peoples' quality of life.”

This summer, interns from Arizona State University, Des Moines Area Community College, Drake University,  Grand View University, Iowa State University, Loyola University - Chicago, Scripps College, the University of Iowa and the University of Northwestern - St. Paul, will be welcomed to the GWC Internship program. Interns will work on a wide range of projects for the Foundation, including archives, lectures management, event planning, social media, public relations, graphic design, grassroots efforts and youth programming. 

These highly qualified students will play an essential role in the daily operations of the World Food Prize Foundation. Students will work closely with experienced mentors throughout the summer, and they will have the opportunity to interact with government officials, World Food Prize Laureates, international media and other leaders in global food security. 

"I am excited to explore the different aspects of activism, education, policy, and science that the World Food Prize encompasses," said Kegan Peters, summer 2020 GWC Intern. “I also look forward to furthering my understanding of now nonprofits successfully operate, especially in such important and challenging times.” 

To read more about the George Washington Carver Internship program, go to www.worldfoodprize.org/gwcintern

Summer 2020 GWC Interns

  1. Janna Cook | Arizona State University Class of 2023 | jcook@worldfoodprize.org

  2. Kyle Ebel | Iowa State University Class of 2020 | kebel@worldfoodprize.org

  3. Sydney Garrett | Des Moines Area Community College Class of 2021 | sgarrett@worldfoodprize.org

  4. Molly Hart | Grand View University Class of 2021| mhart@worldfoodprize.org

  5. Rebeka Klassen | University of Northwestern - St. Paul Class of 2020 | rklassen@worldfoodprize.org 

  6. Katie Lajoie | Drake University Class of 2022 | klajoie@worldfoodprize.org

  7. Ryan Lefort | Drake University Class of 2021 | rlefort@worldfoodprize.org

  8. Grace Long | Drake University Class of 2023 | glong@worldfoodprize.org

  9. Megan Mullenbach | Loyola University Class of 2021 | mmullenbach@worldfoodprize.org

  10. Stella Murphy | University of Iowa Class of 2022 | smurphy@worldfoodprize.org

  11. Kegan Peters | Scripps College Class of 2023 | kpeters@worldfoodprize.org

  12. Paul Richards | University of Iowa Class of 2021 | prichards@worldfoodprize.org

  13. Trish Richards | Drake University Class of 2021 | trichards@worldfoodprize.org

  14. Ashley Rolf | Iowa State University Class of 2020 | arolf@worldfoodprize.org

  15. Nicole Saltou | Iowa State University Class of 2021 | nsaltou@worldfoodprize.org 

  16. Jonah Schaeffer | University of Iowa Class of 2022 | jschaeffer@worldfoodprize.org

ABOUT THE WORLD FOOD PRIZE FOUNDATION:  The Foundation’s mission is to elevate innovations and inspire action to sustainably increase the quality, quantity and availability of food for all. The Prize was founded in 1986 by Dr. Norman E. Borlaug, recipient of the 1970 Nobel Peace Prize. Since then, the World Food Prize has honored 50 outstanding individuals who have made vital contributions throughout the world. The World Food Prize Foundation annually hosts the Norman E. Borlaug International Symposium, known informally as the Borlaug Dialogue and a variety of youth education programs to help further the discussion on cutting-edge global food security issues and inspire the next generation to end hunger.

###

© 2020 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.