The World Food Prize Foundation

2011 Szymoniak Award Winner

Insert picture here

TRISHA COLLINS of Pleasantville, Iowa, was awarded the Elaine Szymoniak Award during the World Food Prize Laureate Ceremony on October 13, 2011 at the Iowa State Capitol in Des Moines.

She received the Elaine Szymoniak Award for her outstanding work as a 2010 World Food Prize Borlaug-Ruan Internationial Intern.

Trisha interned at the International Livestock Research Institute (ILRI) in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, where she conducted research into crop breeding and agronomic practices for improved agricultural productivity and nutritional quality of tropical grasses under the direction of ILRI’s Forage Diversity Department.

She is a graduate of Pleasantville High School and now attends Iowa State University where she is studying Animal Science.

The Elaine Szymoniak Intern Award was created in 2010 and is named in honor of the Iowa State Senator, Des Moines City Council Member and hearing and speech specialist known for her dedicated public service and great efforts to save the World Food Prize. This award is presented annually to a Borlaug-Ruan International Intern whose fulfillment of his or her research program at an international research center best exemplifies Senator Szymoniak's commitment to meet the needs of the community and dedicated efforts to promote education, health, economic development, equality and justice.

Trisha was selected as a Borlaug-Ruan International Intern after participating in the World Food Prize Global Youth Institute in 2009. The Global Youth Institute provides high school students the opportunity to interact with Nobel and World Food Prize Laureates, connect with other student leaders from around the world, tour cutting-edge industrial and research facilities, and discuss pressing food security and agricultural issues with global leaders in science, industry and policy.

Trisha received her award prior to the awarding of the 2011 World Food Prize to H.E. John Agyekum Kufuor, the former president of Ghana, and H.E. Luiz Inácio Lula Da Silva, the former president of Brazil.


© 2023 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.