The World Food Prize Foundation

2000 Chrystal Award Winner

MATTHEW FELdmanN of Cedar Rapids, Iowa, and Amanda James of Creston, Iowa, were awarded the John Chrystal Award during the World Food Prize Laureate Ceremony on October 12, 2000 at the Iowa State Capitol in Des Moines.

Matthew and Amanda received the Chrystal Award for their outstanding work as 1998 Borlaug-Ruan International Interns at the International Maize and Wheat Improvement Center (CIMMYT) in Mexico City, Mexico and at the International Centre for Insect Physiology and Ecology (ICIPE) in Nairobi, Kenya, respectively. 

Matthew's internship focused on interviewing rural farmers of the Yaqui valley to learn how they had been affected by the Green Revolution. His research helped contribute to CIMMYT's mission to reduce poverty and hunger by allowing CIMMYT to better understand how the farmers had been affected by the policies and technologies of the Green Revolution and what more could be done in the future to keep inspiring positive change in the region.

Amanda worked with researchers developing the African Fruit Fly Initiative, a project aimed at increasing the productivity and trade of fruits and vegetables through improved management of African fruit flies. Her research helped contribute to ICIPE's mission to reduce poverty and hunger by helping the researchers identify effective technologies and practices to manage the fly.

The John Chrystal Award was established in 2001 in the spirit of John Chrystal's commitment to enriching Iowa's relationship with the world and his belief that everyone is entitled to a sense of dignity and adequate food. The award is presented annually to the intern who most strongly reflects Mr. Chrystal’s commitment.

Matthe and Amanda were selected as Borlaug-Ruan International Interns after representing their high schools at the World Food Prize Global Youth Institute in 2007. The Global Youth Institute provides high school students the opportunity to interact with Nobel and World Food Prize Laureates, connect with other student leaders from around the world, tour cutting-edge industrial and research facilities, and discuss pressing food security and agricultural issues with global leaders in science, industry and policy.

Matthew and Amanda received their award prior to the awarding of the 2000 World Food Prize to Dr. Evangelina Vilegas and Dr. Surinder K. Vasal. The event was televised live throughout the state of Iowa on Iowa Public Television.



© 2023 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.