The World Food Prize Foundation

2004 Chrystal Award Winner

Megan Srinivas of Fort Dodge, Iowa, was awarded the John Chrystal Award during the World Food Prize Laureate Ceremony on October 14, 2004 at the Iowa State Capitol in Des Moines.

She received the Chrystal Award for her outstanding work as a 2004 World Food Prize Borlaug-Ruan International Intern at the International Centre for Insect Physiology and Ecology (ICIPE) in Nairobi, Kenya.

Megan worked under the mentorship of Dr. Zeyaur Khan, Principal Scientist and Leader of the Grass Ecosystems Project, analyzing the influence of education on household food security in rural Africa.

A graduate of Fort Dodge High School, Megan attended Harvard University to study human evolutionary biology and global health policy.

The John Chrystal Award was established in 2001 in the spirit of John Chrystal's commitment to enriching Iowa's relationship with the world and his belief that everyone is entitled to a sense of dignity and adequate food. The award is presented annually to the intern who most strongly reflects Mr. Chrystal’s commitment.

Megan was selected as a Borlaug-Ruan International Intern after participating in the World Food Prize Global Youth Institute in 2001 and 2002. The Global Youth Institute provides high school students the opportunity to interact with Nobel and World Food Prize Laureates, connect with other student leaders from around the world, tour cutting-edge industrial and research facilities, and discuss pressing food security and agricultural issues with global leaders in science, industry and policy.

Megan received her award prior to the awarding of the 2004 World Food Prize to Prof. Yuan Longping of China and Dr. Monty Jones of Sierra Leone.



© 2024 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.