The World Food Prize Foundation

2006 Chrystal Award Winner

Rachael Cox of Ames, Iowa, was awarded the John Chrystal Award during the World Food Prize Laureate Ceremony on October 19, 2006 at the Iowa State Capitol in Des Moines.

She received the Chrystal Award for her outstanding work as a 2005 World Food Prize Borlaug-Ruan International Intern at the International Centre of Insect Physiology and Ecology (ICIPE) in Nairobi, Kenya.

Rachael worked under the mentorship of Dr. Bernhard Loehr, Head of ICIPE’s Plant Health Division, and his team on the Diamond Black Moth (DBM) project.  Her project involved study of the field mortality factors of DBM eggs and larvae in semi-arid crucifer growing conditions.

A graduate of Ames High School, Rachael attends Iowa State University and is studying agronomy and international agriculture.

The John Chrystal Award was established in 2001 in the spirit of John Chrystal's commitment to enriching Iowa's relationship with the world and his belief that everyone is entitled to a sense of dignity and adequate food. The award is presented annually to the intern who most strongly reflects Mr. Chrystal’s commitment.

Rachael was selected as a Borlaug-Ruan International Intern after participating in the World Food Prize Global Youth Institute in 2004. The Global Youth Institute provides high school students the opportunity to interact with Nobel and World Food Prize Laureates, connect with other student leaders from around the world, tour cutting-edge industrial and research facilities, and discuss pressing food security and agricultural issues with global leaders in science, industry and policy.

Rachael received her award prior to the awarding of the 2006 World Food Prize to Edson Lobato and Alysson Paolinelli of Brazil and Dr. A. Colin McClung of the United States.


© 2023 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.