The World Food Prize Foundation

2007 Chrystal Award Winner

Stephen Lauer of Des Moines. Iowa, was awarded the John Chrystal Award during the World Food Prize Laureate Ceremony on October 18, 2007 at the Iowa State Capitol in Des Moines.

He received the Chrystal Award for his outstanding work as a 2006 World Food Prize Borlaug-Ruan International Intern at The WorldFish Center’s Regional Center for Africa and West Asia in Abbassa, Egypt.

Stephen worked under the mentorship of Senior Aquaculture Scientist Dr. George John and Dr. Gamal El Naggar, focusing on aquaculture practices related to pond productivity.

A graduate of Roosevelt High School in Des Moines, Stephen attends Drake University and is studying biology and international agriculture.

The John Chrystal Award was established in 2001 in the spirit of John Chrystal's commitment to enriching Iowa's relationship with the world and his belief that everyone is entitled to a sense of dignity and adequate food. The award is presented annually to the intern who most strongly reflects Mr. Chrystal’s commitment.

Stephen was selected as a Borlaug-Ruan International Intern after participating in the World Food Prize Global Youth Institute in 2005. The Global Youth Institute provides high school students the opportunity to interact with Nobel and World Food Prize Laureates, connect with other student leaders from around the world, tour cutting-edge industrial and research facilities, and discuss pressing food security and agricultural issues with global leaders in science, industry and policy.

Stephen received his award prior to the awarding of the 2007 World Food Prize to Dr. Philip Nelson of the United States. The event was televised live throughout the state of Iowa on Iowa Public Television.


© 2023 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.