The World Food Prize Foundation

2012 Transcripts/Audio/Visual

Partnerships & Priorities: Transforming the Global Food Security Agenda

October 17-19, 2012 – Des Moines, Iowa – Des Moines Marriott Downtown Hotel


 Wednesday, October 17, 2012

The "Borlaug Dialogue" Day 1


1:15 p.m. Plenary Address (video) (transcript)

Peter Brabeck-Letmathe – Chairman of the Board, Nestlé


1:40 p.m. Conversation - Setting the Stage: One Billion Hungry - Can We Feed the World Sustainably? (video) (transcript)

Sir Gordon Conway – Professor of International Development, Imperial College London

Jane Karuku – President, Alliance for a Green Revolution in Africa

Susan Godwin – Smallholder Farmer, Nigeria

Gebisa Ejeta – Distinguished Professor of Plant Breeding & Genetics & International Agriculture, Purdue University

Roger Thurow – Senior Fellow, The Chicago Council on Global Affairs (Moderator)


3:00 p.m. Plenary Address (video) (transcript)

Sandra Peterson – CEO, Bayer CropScience


3:30 p.m. Conversation - Indices and Indicators: Creating a Common Language for Measuring Success (video) (transcript)

Leo Abruzzese – Custom Research and Editorial Director - Americas, Economist Intelligence Unit

Sara Boettiger – Founding Director, AgPartnerXChange

Rajul Pandya-Lorch – Head, 2020 Vision for Food, Agriculture, and the Environment Initiative, IFPRI

Sandy Andelman – Executive Director, Vital Signs

Pedro Sanchez – Director of the Tropical Agriculture and the Rural Environment Program, Earth Institute, Columbia University (Moderator)


9:00 p.m. dialogueNEXT (video)

José Andrés – Owner & Chef, ThinkFoodGroup

Ellen Gustafson – Founder, 30 Project / Co-Founder, FEED

Michael Deal – Executive Director & CEO, Volunteers for Economic Growth Alliance

Molly Mattessich – Manager of Online Initiatives, National Peace Corps Association

Nii Simmonds – Program Director and Co-Founder, The DAIN Network

Pape Samb – President and CEO, Phelps Stokes

Cooper Munroe – Member of the Board, ONE Moms

Tony Thelen – Director of Operations, Intelligent Solutions Group, Deere & Co.

Danielle Nierenberg – Director of the Nourishing the Planet project, Worldwatch Institute

Bian Li - Director of Planning, the World Food Prize Foundation (Moderator)


Thursday, October 18, 2012

The "Borlaug Dialogue" Day 2


8:05 a.m. Conversation - Droughts and Drylands: Agriculture’s Role in Confronting Global Water Challenges (video) (transcript)

Igal Aisenberg – President & CEO, Netafim

J. Carl Ganter – Co-Founder & Director, Circle of Blue

Roberto Lenton – Executive Director, Robert B. Daugherty Water for Food Institute - University of Nebraska

Aditi Mukherji – Senior Researcher, International Water Management Institute

Margaret Catley-Carlson – Chair, World Economic Forum Advisory Council on Water (Moderator)


9:15 a.m. Plenary Address (video) (transcript)

Kendall Powell – Chairman & CEO, General Mills


9:40 a.m. Conversation - Game Change: Innovations Shaping the Future of Green Technology (video) (transcript)

Marc Van Montagu – Emeritus Professor, Ghent University

Robert Fraley – Executive Vice President & Chief Technology Officer, Monsanto

M.S. Swaminathan – Emeritus Chairman, M.S. Swaminathan Research Foundation (Moderator)


10:25 a.m. Plenary Address (video) (transcript)

HRH Princess Haya Bint Al Hussein – UN Messenger of Peace & Chairperson of International Humanitarian City


10:45 a.m.  Conversation - Working Capital: Leveraging Global Financial Tools for Smallholder Farmers

(video) (transcript)

Ray Offenheiser – President, Oxfam America

Walter Bell – Chairman, Swiss Re America Holding Corporation

Carolyn Woo – President and CEO, Catholic Relief Services

Jack Sinclair – Executive Vice President of Food, Walmart U.S.

Sano Shimoda – Founder and President, BioScience Securities (Moderator)


1:00 p.m. Keynote Address (video) (transcript)

Rajiv Shah – Administrator, U.S. Agency for International Development


2:05 p.m. Conversation - Partners & Progress: Collaboration across the G8 and Feed the Future Initiatives (video)

Khalid Bomba – CEO, Ethiopian Agricultural Transformation Agency

Kavita Prakash-Mani – Head of Food Security Agenda, Syngenta International

Helene Gayle – President & CEO, CARE USA

Brady J. Deaton – Chancellor, University of Missouri


3:00 p.m. Plenary Address (video) (transcript)

Pierre Ferrari – President & CEO, Heifer International


Friday, October 19, 2012

The "Borlaug Dialogue" Day 3


7:50 a.m. Special Address (video) (transcript)

H.E. Ban Ki-moon, Secretary-General of the United Nations


8:20 a.m. Keynote Address (video) (transcript)

Ambassador Ertharin Cousin – Executive Director, United Nations World Food Programme


9:00 a.m. Conversation - Waste Not, Want Not: Solutions for Reducing Post Harvest Loss (video) (transcript)

Betty Bugusu – Managing Director, International Food Technology Center, Purdue University

Jeffrey Klein – President & CEO, The Global FoodBanking Network

Rajesh Kumar – Smallholder Farmer, India

Steve Sonka – Director, ADM Institute for the Prevention of Postharvest Loss – University of Illinois (Moderator)


10:00 a.m. Conversation - The Importance of Food Productivity to Meet Tomorrow’s Demand (video) (transcript)

Robert Thompson – Visiting Scholar, John Hopkins University

Margaret Zeigler – Executive Director, Global Harvest Initiative

Isidro Ochoa – Farmer & Professor, Zamorano University

Susan Finn – President & CEO, American Council for Fitness and Education

Jeff Simmons – President, Elanco (Moderator)


11:00 a.m. Conversation - Value Added: Integrating Nutrition for Human and Animal Health (video) (transcript)

Florence Chenoweth – Minister of Agriculture, Government of Liberia

Mehmood Khan – CEO of the Global Nutrition Group, PepsiCo

Jeff Richardson -- Vice President, Global Health Access, Abbott Fund

Jim Gerardot – Executive Director of Global Strategic Marketing, Novus International

Marc Van Ameringen – Executive Director, Global Alliance for Improved Nutrition (Moderator)


12:30 p.m. Laureate Address (video) (transcript)

Daniel Hillel – 2012 World Food Prize Laureate



© 2024 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.