The World Food Prize Foundation

2015 Side Events

Truth About Trade and Technology 10th Annual Global Farmer Roundtable - Day 1

10/13/2015 1:00 PM - 5:30 PM
Mary Boote Roth

TATT 10th Annual Global Farmer Roundtable

The Global Farmer Roundtable brings farmers from across the world into one room to discuss issues important to food production.

The discussion is moderated by Dr. Nicholas Kalaitzandonakes, University of Missouri MSMC Endowed Professor of Agribusiness Strategy, Director of Economics & Management Agrobiotechnology Center (EMAC)

Invited farmers include:

Argentina – Ms. Maria Beatriz Giraudo Gaviglio
Australia – Ms. Sarah Sammon
Canada – Mr. Levi Wood 
China – Ms. Hong “Jenny” Cui 
Ghana – Ms. Lydia Sasu 
India – Mr. Balwinder Singh Kang 
Kenya – Mr. Willy Kirwa 
The Netherlands – Ms. Annechien ten Have Mellema 
Nigeria – Mr. Benjamin Olumuyiwa Adewumi 
Turkey – Mr. Mesut Cetin 
Ukraine – Mr. Kornelis “Kees” Huizinga 
United States – Ms. Nancy Kavazanjian 
Uruguay – Mr. Marcos Guigou 
Vietnam – Ms. Nha Le Thi Trang

Tuesday, October 13, 2015 - 1:00 p.m. – 5:30 p.m.                  
Des Moines Marriott, 700 Grand Ave, Des Moines - Waterloo Room, 3rd Floor

1:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.
Opening session topic: What are the key challenges you face in your farming operation today? What specific trade or market barriers are impacting your ability to be profitable?

3:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.

3:30 p.m. – 5:30 p.m.
World Food Prize Laureate Dr. Robert Fraley will briefly address the group.

Then resume discussions with Session 2 topic: How important is soil health to you farm’s productivity? Are there specific technologies you need that would increase the productivity and sustainability of your farm? To address food and nutritional security?

Wednesday, October 14, 2015   9:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m.
Des Moines Marriott, 700 Grand Ave, Des Moines – Sioux City Room, 3rd Floor

9:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m.
Session 3 topic: How can farmers advocate effectively for solutions to the challenges they face?


To attend, please RSVP to Mary Boote Roth:

© 2024 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.