The World Food Prize Foundation

World Food Prize Foundation Selects Seven Students for Prestigious George Washington Carver Internship Program

06/09/2021

The World Food Prize Foundation announced today the selection of seven students for its Summer George Washington Carver (GWC) Internship program. These exceptional students have the opportunity to work remotely or onsite at the Foundation headquarters in Des Moines, Iowa, with their mentor on the organization’s staff. 

Each semester, the World Food Prize Foundation solicits applications from students all around the country for the GWC Internship program which annually consists of three cohorts - Spring, Summer and Fall. Interns work on many important projects for the Foundation, including archives, awards management, event planning, communications, graphic design, grassroots efforts and youth programming. 

The GWC Internship program has impacted hundreds of students since its founding in 2001.  This experience allows interns to get involved in the operation and impact of an international nonprofit organization while learning first-hand about the significance of food security today.

“Through this internship experience, I hope to contribute to the developing archive of the World Food Prize Foundation,” said Arianne Nguyen, summer 2021 GWC intern. “I’m excited to be part of the history and mission of such a long-standing and prestigious international nonprofit as well as apply my skills towards making that history documented and accessible.”

This summer, interns hail from Drake University, Loyola University Chicago, University of Chicago, University of Denver and the University of Iowa. Students will work closely with experienced mentors while having the opportunity to meet and interact with government officials, World Food Prize Laureates, international media and other leaders in global food security.

“I'm thrilled to get to work with an incredibly talented team to educate and communicate recent developments in the world of agriculture, governmental policy, and scientific advances,” said Adam Koch, summer 2021 GWC intern. “I hope to learn from this experience and discover new ways for me to engage and support my global community.” 

To read more about the George Washington Carver Internship program, go to www.worldfoodprize.org/gwcintern.

Summer 2021 GWC Interns:

  1. Regan Day | University of Iowa Class of 2024 | rday@worldfoodprize.org

  2. Adam Koch | Drake University Class of 2022 | akoch@worldfoodprize.org

  3. Charlie McGroarty | Loyola University Chicago Class of 2022 | cmcgoarty@worldfoodprize.org

  4. Arianne Nguyen | University of Chicago Class of 2024 | anguyen@worldfoodprize.org

  5. Maya Roytman | Loyola University Chicago Class of 2023 | mroytman@worldfoodprize.org

  6. Emmett Stinson | University of Denver Class of 2021 | estinson@worldfoodprize.org

  7. Sierra Wicks | University of Iowa Class of 2023 | swicks@worldfoodprize.org

© 2021 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.