The World Food Prize Foundation

The World Food Prize Selects Eighteen Students for the Prestigious George Washington Carver Intern Program

10/02/2019

The World Food Prize Foundation announced today the selection of 18 students for its prestigious George Washington Carver (GWC) internship program this Fall. Since its inception in 2001, the GWC internship program has impacted over 300 students.

Each academic semester and summer, a group of highly qualified undergraduate and graduate students are chosen for this unique program, which provides interns with the opportunity to take significant responsibility and initiative in planning and carrying out a wide range of the Foundation’s projects.

"Through this internship experience, I hope to enhance my knowledge on world food issues by immersing myself into a group of passionate individuals at the World Food Prize,” said Aryaa Regmi, fall GWC Intern. “I wish to grow as a leader and exercise my written communication skills. I am eager to address the pressing issue of food scarcity around the world, because I believe food is a fundamental right for all.”

Eighteen interns from Drake University, Iowa State University, the University of Chicago and the University of Iowa will learn first-hand both the public and private side of operating an international non-profit organization and increase their understanding of the international fight against hunger, malnutrition and poverty. The GWC Interns will work one-on-one with a staff mentor, and play an integral role of this internationally renowned organization as well as the annual World Food Prize Week this October. 

“Interns at the World Food Prize play an absolutely indispensable role in the planning and implementation of all World Food Prize programs,” said Ambassador Kenneth M. Quinn, president of the World Food Prize Foundation. “The success of our upcoming Borlaug Dialogue symposium, youth education programs and Laureate Award Ceremony is dependent on their input and performance.” 

More information about the George Washington Carver Internship can be found at www.worldfoodprize.org/gwcintern.

Fall 2019 George Washington Carver Interns

  1. Megan Adam | Iowa State University, Class of 2019 | madam@worldfoodprize.org
  2. Abigail Cornett | Drake University, Class of 2020 | acornett@worldfoodprize.org
  3. Madison Frey | Drake University, Class of 2021 | mfrey@worldfoodprize.org
  4. Emily Gengler | University of Iowa, Class of 2019 | egengler@worldfoodprize.org
  5. Adam Hathaway | Drake University, Class of 2019 | ahathaway@worldfoodprize.org
  6. Adam Kiesel | Iowa State University, Class of 2019 |akiesel@worldfoodprize.org 
  7. Mitch Krapfl | Iowa State University, Class of 2020 | mkrapfl@worldfoodprize.org 
  8. Tyler Mardis | Iowa State University, Class of 2019 | tmardis@worldfoodprize.org
  9. Krista Martin | University of Chicago, Class of 2024 | kmartin@worldfoodprize.org
  10. Signe Mattson | Drake University, Class of 2021 | smattson@worldfoodprize.org
  11. Peyton Maulsby | Drake University, Class of 2022 | pmaulsby@worldfoodprize.org
  12. Manichanh Naonady | Iowa State University, Class of 2019 | mnaonady@worldfoodprize.org
  13. Ethan Quick | Drake University, Class of 2020 | equick@worldfoodprize.org
  14. Aryaa Regmi | Iowa State Alum | aregmi@worldfoodprize.org
  15. Rachel Ulven | Iowa State University, Class of 2020 | umulven@worldfoodprize.org
  16. Sophia Walker | Drake University, Class of 2022 | swalker@worldfoodprize.org
  17. Rebecca Wairda | Iowa State University, Class of 2020 | rwairda@worldfoodprize.org
  18. Gabrielle Watkins | Drake University, Class of 2020 | gwatkins@worldfoodprize.org 
© 2019 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.