The World Food Prize Foundation

The World Food Prize Foundation Announces the Winner of the Inaugural Norman Borlaug Poster Contest


Each year on October 16, the World Food Prize Foundation recognizes World Food Day in conjunction with Dr. Norman E. Borlaug/World Food Prize Day in Iowa. Today the Foundation is pleased to announce the winner of the inaugural poster contest that was announced in January. 

The 2019 winner is Samantha Reed of Des Moines Christian High School in Urbandale, Iowa.  “I’m so thankful to be presented with this award,” said Reed. “I was inspired by my art teacher Mr. Vredenburg, who always gives me advice and help with any piece I’m working on.”

This winning art piece will be used as the focal point of the 2019 Borlaug Day poster and shared with classrooms across the state to educate and inspire students to emulate the passion and commitment of our state’s great humanitarian hero, Nobel Peace Prize Laureate and Father of the Green Revolution Dr. Norman E. Borlaug, and aspire to be Iowa's #NextNorm. 

Reed will unveil her poster at the 2019 Iowa Hunger Summit during the annual Luncheon. The Iowa Hunger Summit will be the first event of the World Food Prize week-long series of programs including the Norman E. Borlaug International Symposium. While the Hunger Summit is free and open to the public, registration is required. 

  • Register:

  • When: Monday, October 14, 2019, 7:30 a.m. - 4 p.m. 

  • Where: The Downtown Des Moines Marriott Hotel - 700 Grand Ave, Des Moines, IA

About the Iowa Hunger Summit: The Iowa Hunger Summit was established in 2006 by World Food Prize President Ambassador Kenneth M. Quinn, with former Iowa governors: Robert D. Ray, Terry E. Branstad, Chet Culver, and Tom Vilsack serving as honorary co-chairs. It was originally created to involve Iowans in the global discussion of food insecurity while honoring the role Iowans play in feeding the world. 

About the World Food Prize: The World Food Prize is an international award that honors individuals who have improved the quality, quantity, or availability of food world-wide. The Prize was founded by Dr. Norman E. Borlaug, recipient of the 1970 Nobel Peace Prize, for his work that contributed to increases in agricultural outputs which was termed the Green Revolution. Since then, the Prize has been awarded to 48 worthy individuals during the Norman E. Borlaug International Symposium. The Symposium, also known as the Borlaug Dialogue, is a week of events dedicated to an issue surrounding food insecurity or hunger each year.  

Press Contact:
Nicole Barreca, Director of Communications and Events
+1.515.245.3735 (direct) or

© 2024 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.