The World Food Prize Foundation

The World Food Prize Foundation Opens Registration for the Annual Iowa Hunger Summit


The World Food Prize has announced the opening of registration for the 13th annual Iowa Hunger Summit. This event gathers community members and leaders from all across Iowa who are involved in efforts to eradicate hunger both domestically and internationally to discuss solutions to confront hunger. The event will take place on  Monday, October 14, 2019 at the Downtown Des Moines Marriott Hotel. 

The Iowa Hunger Summit will be the first event of the World Food Prize week-long series of programs including the Norman E. Borlaug International Symposium. The summit is an all-day conference which includes a special Hunger Luncheon, and is free and open to the public. The program features speakers and special panel sessions with leaders and experts in confronting hunger, poverty and malnutrition, both at home and abroad. The Governor and bipartisan representatives from the Iowa Legislature are regular attendees at the Hunger Luncheon, which also features the presentation of the Robert D. Ray Iowa SHARES Humanitarian Award.

While the Hunger Summit is free and open to the public, registration is required. 

  • Register:

  • When: Monday, October 14, 2019, 7:30 a.m. - 4 p.m. 

  • Where: The Downtown Des Moines Marriott Hotel - 700 Grand Ave, Des Moines, IA

NEW THIS YEAR: The Iowa Hunger Summit will feature the unveiling of the inaugural “Norman Borlaug World Food Prize Day” poster contest. The winning art piece will be used as the focal point of the 2019 Borlaug Day poster and shared with classrooms across the state to educate and inspire students to emulate the passion and commitment of our state’s great humanitarian hero, Nobel Peace Prize Laureate and Father of the Green Revolution Dr. Norman E. Borlaug, and aspire to be Iowa's #NextNorm. 

About the Iowa Hunger Summit: The Iowa Hunger Summit was established in 2006 by World Food Prize President Ambassador Kenneth M. Quinn, with former Iowa governors: Robert D. Ray, Terry E. Branstad, Chet Culver, and Tom Vilsack serving as honorary co-chairs. It was originally created to involve Iowans in the global discussion of food insecurity while honoring the role Iowans play in feeding the world. 

About the World Food Prize: The World Food Prize is an international award that honors individuals who have improved the quality, quantity, or availability of food world-wide. The Prize was founded by Dr. Norman E. Borlaug, recipient of the 1970 Nobel Peace Prize, for his work that contributed to increases in agricultural outputs which was termed the Green Revolution. Since then, the Prize has been awarded to 48 worthy individuals during the Norman E. Borlaug International Symposium. The Symposium, also known as the Borlaug Dialogue, is a week of events dedicated to an issue surrounding food insecurity or hunger each year.  

Press Contact:
Nicole Barreca, Director of Communications and Events
+1.515.245.3735 (direct), +1.563.271.2995 (cell), or


© 2024 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.