The World Food Prize Foundation

World Food Prize Announces Opening of Registration for 2019 Borlaug Dialogue International Symposium


From the stage of the Dialogue for Asian Civilizations in Beijing,  Amb. Kenneth M. Quinn, president of the World Food Prize Foundation, announced the opening of registration for the 2019 Borlaug Dialogue International Symposium Pax Agricultura: Peace Through Agriculture.

“From the U.S.-Soviet nuclear confrontation during the Cold War, to eradicating the genocidal Khmer Rouge in Cambodia, to ending strife and terror in Africa,  agriculture and rural development have played a critical role in promoting peace and preventing conflict,” said Quinn. “It is, therefore, most appropriate that on May 16, United Nations International Day of Living in Peace Together, we open the registration for our 2019 Borlaug Dialogue.”

The conference, which will take place on October 16-18 in Des Moines, Iowa, USA, will convene an extraordinary array of international leaders, policy makers, agribusiness executives, non-governmental organization leaders and scientific, academic and development experts to address the most critical issues facing global food security.

The theme will address the increasingly intersectional issues of food security, conflict and development, with topics ranging from religion, diplomacy, agriculture, climate, scientific innovation and corporate leadership. This year’s Borlaug Dialogue International Symposium  will be held at the Downtown Marriott Hotel in Des Moines.

“Confronting hunger and promoting food security can bring people together across even the broadest ethnic, religious, political or cultural divides,” said Quinn.

Register at

Highlighted speakers this year will include:

Agricultural Leaders and Experts:

  • Dr. Ousmane Badiane, Africa Director, IFPRI

  • Mr. James C. Collins, Jr. Chief Operating Officer of the Agriculture Division of DowDuPont and Chief Executive Officer-Elect of Corteva Agriscience™

  • Mr. Liam Condon, CEO, Bayer

  • Dr. Shenggen Fan, Director General, IFPRI

  • Dr. Agnes Kalibata, President, AGRA

  • Dr. Chris Nelson, President & CEO, Kemin Industries

  • Dr. Joachim Von Braun, Director, The Center for Development Research (ZEF), University of Bonn

Diplomats and International Officials  

  • Dr. Kishore Mahbubani, Professor, National University of Singapore

  • Ambassador George Moose, Vice Chairman of the Board, USIP

  • H.E. Geraldine Mukeshimana, Minister of Agriculture of Rwanda

  • Ambassador John Negroponte, former Director of National Intelligence

  • Ambassador Nancy Powell, Formerly of Department of State

  • Ms. Josette Sheeran, President & CEO, Asia Society

  • H. E. Chanthol Sun, Minister of Public Works and Transport, Cambodia

  • Mr. Robert Zoellick, former President of the World Bank; now Senior Counselor, Brunswick Geopolitical

NGO and Educational Institution Leaders:

  • Ms. Marie Haga, CEO, Crop Trust

  • Ms. Heidi Kuhn, CEO, Roots of Peace

  • Dr. Ruth Oniang’o, Chair of the Board, AJFAND

  • Dr. Timothy D. Sands, President, Virginia Tech

  • Dr. Gunhild Stordalen, Founder & Executive Chair, EAT

  • Dr. Wendy Wintersteen, President, Iowa State University

Additional events surrounding the 2019 Borlaug Dialogue International Symposium will include:

  • Iowa Hunger Summit (October 14): This free event gathers several hundred leaders from across Iowa representing community organizations, business and industry, state and local government, social agencies, churches and religious communities, schools and universities, and other groups that lead or participate in projects to confront hunger - registration opens July 1.

  • Reception for the Borlaug Field Award for Research and Application, Endowed by the Rockefeller Foundation (October 16): This event honors a scientist under the age of 40 who emulates Dr. Borlaug’s intellectual courage and determination in the fight to end global hunger and poverty. This event is open to the media.

  • Laureate Award Ceremony (October 17): This year’s Laureate will be honored and officially awarded the World Food Prize. The Laureate Award Ceremony has limited space and is by invitation only. The ceremony is also live on Iowa Public Television and via webcast.

  • Global Youth Institute (October 18 and 19 at the Iowa Events Center and Corteva): Each year, more than 200 exceptional high school students and their teachers from across the United States and other countries are selected to participate in the World Food Prize Global Youth Institute. At this inspiring event, the next generation presents and discusses their solutions to global food security challenges with a "faculty panel" of international experts and their peers, connects with other students from around the world, tours cutting-edge industrial and research facilities, and takes part in discussions with global leaders in science, industry and policy. This event is open to the media.

Register at

ABOUT THE WORLD FOOD PRIZE:  The World Food Prize is the foremost international award recognizing the achievements of individuals who have advanced human development by improving the quality, quantity or availability of food in the world. The Prize was founded in 1986 by Dr. Norman E. Borlaug, recipient of the 1970 Nobel Peace Prize. Since then, the World Food Prize has honored 48 outstanding individuals who have made vital contributions throughout the world. The World Food Prize annually hosts the Borlaug Dialogue international symposium and a variety of youth education programs to help further the discussion on cutting-edge global food security issues and inspire the next generation to end hunger.

Press Contact:
Nicole Barreca, Director of Communications and Events
(direct), 563.271.2995 (cell), or


© 2024 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.