The World Food Prize Foundation

Press Registration for 2018 World Food Prize Week Events is Now Open


Des Moines, Iowa (August 20, 2018): Press registration for the 2018 World Food Prize Week of Events held Oct. 15-19 in Des Moines, Iowa, is now open. The highlight of the events — the 2018 Borlaug Dialogue International Symposium — will convene an incredible array of international leaders, experts and scientists to discuss and address critical issues facing global food security. This year's symposium theme, "Rise to the Challenge," will focus discussion on those significant steps that must be taken to meet the greatest challenge we have ever faced: sustainably and nutritiously feeding over nine billion people by 2050.

Verified members of the press will need to produce a valid press badge onsite in order to collect their credentials for access to any events during the World Food Prize Week of Events. Event organizers cannot guarantee entry to media that have not registered ahead of time.

The 2018 World Food Prize week of events consists of the Iowa Hunger Summit, the Borlaug Dialogue, the Laureate Award Ceremony and the Global Youth Institute. Press should indicate on the registration form which events they are interested in covering.

Bloggers, student journalists, communications staff and social media teams are invited to register in advance to become media partners during the World Food Prize Week of Events, granting them event access similar to accredited press. Contact for application details after August 22, 2018. Note that places are limited, and for event security purposes, event organizers cannot guarantee entry to bloggers that have not registered ahead of time; they may be required to wait for credentials to be issued and may not be able to be accommodated.

Media partner registration will close on October 12, 2018. After that date we cannot accept any other applications. Media partners will not have the opportunity to attend the Laureate Award Ceremony.

Highlighted speakers for the year include:

  • Lawrence Haddad, 2018 World Food Prize Laureate and Executive Director of the Global Alliance for Improved Nutrition

  • David Nabarro, 2018 World Food Prize Laureate and Strategic Director of Skills, Systems & Synergies for Sustainable Development (4SD)

  • Mercedes Araoz, Vice President of Peru

  • James C. Collins, Chief Executive Officer at Corteva Agriscience

  • Liam Condon, President and Chief Executive Officer at Bayer AG

  • Louise Fresco, President of Wageningen University and Research

  • Rachel Haurwitz, President and Chief Executive Officer of Caribou Biosciences, Inc.

  • Nancy Lindborg, President of the U.S. Institute of Peace

  • Rohtash Mal, Chairman of EM3 Ag Services

  • Purvi Mehta, Senior Advisor and Head of Agriculture at the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, India

  • Richard Myers, President of Kansas State University

  • Ruth Oniang’o, Chair of the Board of the Sasakawa Africa Foundation

  • Marc Scantlin, President of Food Technology Americas at Kemin Industries

  • Liz Schrayer, President and Chief Executive Officer of the U.S. Global Leadership Coalition

  • Karsten Temme, Chief Executive Officer of Pivot Bio

  • Ponsi Trivisvavet, Chief Executive Officer and Co-Founder of Inari Agriculture

  • Gerda Verburg, Coordinator of the United Nations Scaling Up Nutrition Movement

  • Ren Wang, Special Advisor to the President at BGI

  • Kip Ward, President and Chief Operating Officer at SENTEL Corporation

  • Justin Whitmore, Chief Sustainability Officer at Tyson Foods

  • Simon Winter, Executive Director of the Syngenta Foundation

  • Wendy Wintersteen, President of Iowa State University


Discussion topics and highlights of the program will include:

  • The relationship between food security and hard security

  • The growing agriculture technology startup industry

  • A global snapshot of nutrition and its impact around the globe

  • CRISPR-Cas technology and its use in crops

  • The initiative to double farmers’ income in India

  • The growing opportunity for financial institutions to invest in agriculture

  • Women in leadership roles in agriculture at the university level


ABOUT THE WORLD FOOD PRIZE:  The World Food Prize is the foremost international award recognizing the achievements of individuals who have advanced human development by improving the quality, quantity or availability of food in the world. The Prize was founded in 1986 by Dr. Norman E. Borlaug, recipient of the 1970 Nobel Peace Prize. Since then, the World Food Prize has honored 48 outstanding individuals who have made vital contributions throughout the world. The World Food Prize annually hosts the Borlaug Dialogue international symposium and a variety of youth education programs to help further the discussion on cutting-edge global food security issues and inspire the next generation to end hunger.

© 2024 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.