The World Food Prize Foundation

World Food Prize Announces its 2018 Laureate



The 2018 winner of the prestigious $250,000 World Food Prize will be announced at the U.S. Department of Agriculture in Washington, D.C., on Monday, June 25 at 10 a.m. EDT.

Awarded by the World Food Prize Foundation, the Prize has been referred to as the “Nobel Prize for Food and Agriculture” and is the most prominent global award recognizing an individual who has enhanced human development and confronted hunger by improving the quality, quantity or availability of food in the world.

The Laureate Announcement Ceremony will feature a variety of high-level speakers including the Hon. Ted McKinney the U.S. Department of Agriculture Under Secretary for Trade and Foreign Agricultural Affairs, the Hon. Bill Northey the U.S. Department of Agriculture Under Secretary for Farm Production and Conservation, World Food Prize President Amb. Kenneth M. Quinn and World Food Prize Laureate Selection Committee Chair and 2009 Laureate Dr. Gebisa Ejeta.

This event is open to the media. It will also be webcast live at
After the event, video clips will be available at

Monday, June 25 at 10 a.m. EDT
Pre-Set time for cameras is 9:30 a.m. from the Jefferson Drive Entrance
Media may access the Whitten Patio at 9:00 a.m. to begin set-up

United States Department of Agriculture
The Whitten Patio
1400 Jefferson Drive, S.W.
Washington, D.C. 20024

This event is open to the media. All media must pre-register at

Twitter: @WorldFoodPrize
Facebook: /WorldFoodPrize
Hashtag: #FoodPrize18

More information, including a biography and photos of the 2018 World Food Prize Laureate, will be available online after the announcement at

Media inquiries for this event may be directed to:
Nicole Barreca, Director of Communications and Events
The World Food Prize | +1.515.245.3735

The World Food Prize is the foremost international award recognizing the achievements of individuals who have advanced human development by improving the quality, quantity or availability of food in the world. The Prize was founded in 1986 by Dr. Norman E. Borlaug, recipient of the 1970 Nobel Peace Prize. Since then, the World Food Prize has honored 46 outstanding individuals who have made vital contributions throughout the world. The World Food Prize annually hosts the Borlaug Dialogue international symposium and a variety of youth education programs to help further the discussion on cutting-edge global food security issues and inspire the next generation to end hunger.

Each year, the Laureate is honored at a three-day symposium in October held in Des Moines, Iowa: home of the World Food Prize Foundation. Registration for the Borlaug Dialogue will be open on July 9, 2018.


© 2024 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.