The World Food Prize Foundation

The World Food Prize Selects 11 Students for Its Prestigious Internship Program


The World Food Prize Foundation announced today the selection of the 2018 Spring George Washington Carver (GWC) Interns. Each academic semester and summer, a select group of highly qualified undergraduate and graduate students are chosen for this unique program, which provides interns with the opportunity to take significant responsibility and initiative in planning and carrying out a wide range of the Foundation’s projects.

“I always knew that I wanted to work for a non-profit, I had always had a passion for helping others. Through my time at the World Food Prize Foundation, it made my passion much more solid,” said Katelyn O’Hare-Hayes, 2017 Social Media Intern. “I was able to work for a non-profit that listened to my ideas and thoughts and I never felt like ‘just an intern’ rather, a valued member of the World Food Prize Foundation.”

Eleven interns from Drake University, Grand View University, Iowa State University and Waukee High School will learn first-hand both the public and private side of operating an international non-profit organization and increase their understanding of the international fight against hunger, malnutrition and poverty. The GWC interns will work one-one-one with a staff mentor, and play an integral role of this internationally renowned organization as well as the spring Iowa Youth Institute program. More information about the George Washington Carver Internship can be found at

“Interns at the World Food Prize play an absolutely indispensable role in the planning and implementation of all World Food Prize programs,” said Ambassador Kenneth M. Quinn, president of the World Food Prize Foundation. “The success of our upcoming Borlaug Dialogue symposium, youth education programs, and Laureate Announcement is dependent on their input and performance.”

1.       Jessica Durbala | Waukee High School | Class of 2018 |

2.       Annie Edelman | Iowa State University | Class of 2018 |

3.       Missy Farni | Grand View University | Class of 2018 |

4.       Kathryn Gaito | Drake University | Class of 2020 |

5.       Amy Huynh | Iowa State University | Class of 2019 |

6.       Abigale Kennon | Iowa State University | Class of 2020 |

7.       Michelle Lin | Drake University | Class of 2020 |

8.       Paige Nicholson | Drake University | Class of 2020 |

9.       Emma Robinson | Iowa State University | Class of 2020 |

10.   Karoline Sandusky | Drake University | Class of 2019 |

11.   Hannah Schilmoeller | Drake University | Class of 2019 |

ABOUT THE WORLD FOOD PRIZE: The World Food Prize is the foremost international award recognizing the achievements of individuals who have advanced human development by improving the quality, quantity or availability of food in the world. The Prize was founded in 1986 by Dr. Norman E. Borlaug, recipient of the 1970 Nobel Peace Prize. Since then, the World Food Prize has honored 46 outstanding individuals who have made vital contributions throughout the world. The World Food Prize annually hosts the Borlaug Dialogue international symposium and a variety of youth education programs to help further the discussion on cutting-edge global food security issues and inspire the next generation to end hunger.

Press Contact: 
Nicole Barreca, Director of Communications and Events
+1.515.245.3735 (direct), +1.563.271.2995 (cell), or


© 2022 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.