The World Food Prize Foundation

The World Food Prize Selects Fifteen Students for Its Prestigious Internship Program


The World Food Prize Foundation announced today the selection of its 2017 Fall George Washington Carver (GWC) Interns. This unique internship will allow these students to take on key roles in the international nonprofit organization as well as assume significant responsibility in planning and carrying out a wide range of the Foundation’s projects.

Fifteen interns from Iowa State University, Drake University, Grinnell College and Grand View University will learn first-hand both the public and private side of operating an international non-profit organization. Working one-on-one with a staff mentor, each intern will play an integral role of this internationally renowned organization as well as the fall Borlaug Dialogue International Symposium.

"The George Washington Carver Internship is an unsurpassed professional development experience that provides exceptional opportunities in program design and implementation, as well as interaction with an array of international leaders in global food security,” said Ambassador Kenneth Quinn, President of the World Food Prize. “Carver Interns work directly with World Food Prize professional staff in planning the Borlaug Dialogue International Symposium, guiding the Global Youth Institute, staging the Iowa Hunger Summit and welcoming Laureates, government officials, business leaders and research scientists from over 40 countries."

"From day one, I felt like a key player to the organization," said Nina Ford, a 2017 spring GWC Intern. "My time spent here will forever be one of the most memorable experiences in my college career."

  1. Sierra Becker | Iowa State University | Class of 2019 |
  2. Lauren Blum | Drake University | Class of 2019 |
  3. Victoria Butt | Iowa State University | Class of 2020 |
  4. Madeline Cheek | Drake University | Class of 2019 |
  5. Missy Farni | Grand View University | Class of 2018 |
  6. Michele  Fredrickson | Iowa State University | Class of 2018 |
  7. William Hamilton | Grinnell College | Class of 2017  |
  8. Caroline  Hogan | Drake University | Class of 2019 |
  9. Kayla Kaalberg | Iowa State University | Class of 2019  |
  10. Madison Lapke | Iowa State University | Class of 2019  |
  11. Emma  Robinson | Iowa State University | Class of 2020 |
  12. Sarah Schroeder | Drake University | Class of 2019  |
  13. Hannah Soma | Iowa State University | Class of 2018 |
  14. Katherine  Stewart | Iowa State University | Class of  2019 |
  15. Gustav Swanson | Drake University | Class of 2019 |

ABOUT THE WORLD FOOD PRIZE:  The World Food Prize is the foremost international award recognizing the achievements of individuals who have advanced human development by improving the quality, quantity or availability of food in the world. The Prize was founded in 1986 by Dr. Norman E. Borlaug, recipient of the 1970 Nobel Peace Prize. Since then, the World Food Prize has honored 46 outstanding individuals who have made vital contributions throughout the world. The World Food Prize annually hosts the Borlaug Dialogue international symposium and a variety of youth education programs to help further the discussion on cutting-edge global food security issues and inspire the next generation to end hunger. 

# # #

© 2023 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.