The World Food Prize Foundation

World Food Prize President, Ambassador Kenneth M. Quinn to introduce recipient of 2017 Robert D. Ray Iowa SHARES Humanitarian Award


In recognition of Governor Robert D. Ray’s global humanitarian leadership, and in honor of his birthday, the World Food Prize Foundation will announce and introduce the recipient of the annual Robert D. Ray Iowa SHARES Humanitarian Award.

WHEN: Monday, September 25, at 11:00 a.m.

WHERE:  The World Food Prize Hall of Laureates, 100 Locust Street, Des Moines, Iowa, in the Iowa Gallery, Second Floor. (The Iowa Gallery features artwork by Iowa artists, all depicting Iowa’s greatest humanitarian and agricultural moments in history. One beautiful painting by Rose Frantzen commemorates Governor Ray’s lifesaving work with refugees from Indonesia.

WHAT: Press Briefing with and Award Recipient and Amb. Quinn

BACKGROUND: The World Food Prize Foundation established the Robert D. Ray Iowa SHARES Humanitarian Award in 2013 in recognition of the exceptional leadership that former Governor Ray demonstrated in dealing with multiple situations affecting refugees in Indochina, and to honor him on his birthday (September 26). In doing so, the award was named after the Iowa SHARES campaign, which the Governor created in 1979 in order to send desperately needed food and medicine to suffering and dying refugees from Cambodia. Iowa SHARES stands for Iowa Sends Help to Aid Refugees and End Starvation. 

The award is given annually to honor an Iowan who has provided significant leadership in confronting hunger and alleviating human suffering, both at home and abroad. The award will be formally presented to the recipient at the Iowa Hunger Summit Luncheon on October 16 in Des Moines.

DETAILS:  Please arrive between 10:30 and 10:45 a.m. and use the East Riverwalk Entrance. On site, please contact Nicole Barreca with any questions, at 563-271-2995.

ABOUT THE WORLD FOOD PRIZE:  The World Food Prize is the foremost international award recognizing the achievements of individuals who have advanced human development by improving the quality, quantity or availability of food in the world. The Prize was founded in 1986 by Dr. Norman E. Borlaug, recipient of the 1970 Nobel Peace Prize. Since then, the World Food Prize has honored outstanding individuals who have made vital contributions throughout the world. The World Food Prize annually hosts the Borlaug Dialogue international symposium and a variety of youth education programs to help further the discussion on cutting-edge global food security issues and inspire the next generation to end hunger. Press credentials for covering the October World Food Prize Week of events can be requested at

Press Contact: 
Nicole Barreca, Director of Communications and Events
+1.515.245.3735 (direct), +1.563.271.2995 (cell), or


© 2024 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.