The World Food Prize Foundation

The World Food Prize Foundation Opens Registration for the Annual Iowa Hunger Summit


The World Food Prize has opened registration for the 11th annual Iowa Hunger Summit today. The event will take place in Des Moines, Iowa, on Monday, October 16, at the Downtown Des Moines Marriott Hotel.

The Iowa Hunger Summit precedes the Borlaug Dialogue International Symposium. It brings together over 600 local and state leaders from across Iowa representing a diverse array of groups that lead or participate in projects to eradicate hunger.

Morning panel sessions will feature leaders and experts confronting food insecurity, poverty and malnutrition, both at home and abroad. Afternoon Breakout Sessions provide an opportunity for attendees of the Iowa Hunger Summit to engage in in-depth conversation and offers practical tools for taking the fight against hunger to the next level.

The Iowa Hunger Summit is free and open to the public and will include a special Hunger Luncheon, as well as the presentation of the 2017 Robert D. Ray Iowa SHARES Humanitarian Award. The governor and bipartisan representatives from the Iowa Legislature are regular attendees at the Hunger Luncheon. Past keynote speakers include: Howard G. Buffet; Magnus MacFarlane-Barrow, the founder of Mary’s Meals; and Roger Thurow, the author of The First 1,000 Days.

The Iowa Hunger Summit was established in 2006 by former Iowa governors Robert D. Ray, Terry E. Branstad, Chet Culver and Tom Vilsack to honor Iowa’s history of feeding the world and to engage Iowans in the fight against food insecurity both locally and internationally.

How to

Where: The Des Moines Marriott Hotel

When: October 16, 2017, 8am to 4pm

ABOUT THE WORLD FOOD PRIZE:  The World Food Prize is the foremost international award recognizing the achievements of individuals who have advanced human development by improving the quality, quantity or availability of food in the world. The Prize was founded in 1986 by Dr. Norman E. Borlaug, recipient of the 1970 Nobel Peace Prize. Since then, the World Food Prize has honored 46 outstanding individuals who have made vital contributions throughout the world. The World Food Prize annually hosts the Borlaug Dialogue international symposium and a variety of youth education programs to help further the discussion on cutting-edge global food security issues and inspire the next generation to end hunger.

Press Contact: 
Nicole Barreca, Director of Communications and Events 
515.245.3735 (direct), 563.271.2995 (cell), or 

© 2023 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.