The World Food Prize Foundation

The World Food Prize Selects 14 Students for Its Prestigious Internship Program

05/24/2017

The World Food Prize Foundation announced today the selection of its 2017 summer George Washington Carver (GWC) Interns. Each academic semester and summer, a select group of highly qualified undergraduate and graduate students are chosen for this unique program, which provides interns with the opportunity to take significant responsibility and initiative in planning and carrying out a wide range of the Foundation’s projects.

“From day one, I felt like a key player to the organization," said Nina Ford, a 2017 spring GWC Intern. “My time spent here will forever be one of the most memorable experiences in my college career.”

Fourteen interns from Drake University, Iowa State University, Arizona State University, Seton Hall University, Tulane University, Coe College, the University of Iowa and the University of Northern Iowa  will learn first-hand both the public and private side of operating an international non-profit organization and increase their understanding of the international fight against hunger, malnutrition and poverty. More information about the George Washington Carver Internship can be found at www.worldfoodprize.org/gwcintern.

“The George Washington Carver college-level Interns play an invaluable role at the World Food Prize working side by side with professional staff in planning and implementing all of our programs,” says Ambassador Kenneth Quinn, president of the World Food Prize. “We could not have the success that we experience without the essential contributions of our Carver Interns.”

Working one-on-one with a staff mentor, GWC Interns become an integral part of this internationally renowned organization and interact with: World Food Prize Laureates; government officials; international experts in science and agriculture; leaders in industry and business; and members of local, national and international media.

"When you apply for internships, you are never really sure how much work you'll get to do or how much you'll learn from each experience,” said Abby Johnson, 2016 Event Planning Intern. “I can confidently say that leaving the World Food Prize Foundation I have been equipped with a greater knowledge of not only planning and implementing an event but also marketing, communications and daily operations.”

  1. Ashton Temple | Iowa State University | Class of 2019|atemple@worldfoodprize.org
  2. Hannah Wiles | Coe College | Class of 2017 l hwiles@worldfoodprize.org
  3. Eliza Daly | University of Iowa | Class of 2018 | edaly@worldfoodprize.org
  4. Michele Fredrickson | Iowa State University | Class of 2018 | mfredrickson@worldfoodprize.org
  5. Kaitlyn Kor | Arizona State University | Class of 2019 | kkor@worldfoodprize.org
  6. Katelyn O’Hare Hayes | Drake University| Class of 2018 | khayes@worldfoodprize.org
  7. Alana Platte | Iowa State University | Class of 2019 | aplatte@worldfoodprize.org
  8. Iriss Tan | Drake University | Class of 2018 | itan@worldfoodprize.org
  9. Emma Tobin | Seton Hall University | Class of 2020 | etobin@worldfoodprize.org
  10. Kaliana Villa | University of Northern Iowa | Class of 2018 | kvilla@worldfoodprize.org
  11. Katie Walther | Drake University | Class of 2017 | kwalther@worldfoodprize.org
  12. Brianna Young | Tulane University | Class of 2019 | byoung@worldfoodprize.org
  13. Cody West |Iowa State University | Class of 2018 | cwest@worldfoodprize.org
  14. Sarah Shroeder | Drake University | Class of 2019 | sschroeder@worldfoodprize.org

Press Contact: 
Nicole Barreca, Director of Communications and Events
+1.515.245.3735 (direct), +1.563.271.2995 (cell), or nbarreca@worldfoodprize.org

ABOUT THE WORLD FOOD PRIZE:  The World Food Prize is the foremost international award recognizing the achievements of individuals who have advanced human development by improving the quality, quantity or availability of food in the world. The Prize was founded in 1986 by Dr. Norman E. Borlaug, recipient of the 1970 Nobel Peace Prize. Since then, the World Food Prize has honored 45 outstanding individuals who have made vital contributions throughout the world. The World Food Prize annually hosts the Borlaug Dialogue international symposium and a variety of youth education programs to help further the discussion on cutting-edge global food security issues and inspire the next generation to end hunger. 

# # #

© 2020 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.