The World Food Prize Foundation

The World Food Prize Selects 12 Students for Its Prestigious Internship Program

03/13/2017

The World Food Prize Foundation announced today the selection of its 2017 spring semester George Washington Carver (GWC) Interns. Each academic semester and summer, a select group of highly qualified undergraduate and graduate students are chosen for this unique program, which provides interns with the opportunity to take significant responsibility and initiative in planning and carrying out a wide range of the Foundation’s projects. 

Twelve interns from Drake University, Iowa State University and Simpson College will learn first-hand both the public and private side of operating an international non-profit organization and increase their understanding of the international fight against hunger, malnutrition, and poverty. More information about the George Washington Carver Internship can be found at www.worldfoodprize.org/gwcintern.

“The George Washington Carver Interns at the World Food Prize play an absolutely indispensable role in the planning and implementation of all World Food Prize programs,” said Ambassador Kenneth M. Quinn, president of the World Food Prize Foundation. “The success of our upcoming Borlaug Dialogue symposium, youth education programs, and Laureate Announcement is dependent on their input and performance.”

Working one-on-one with a staff mentor, GWC Interns become an integral part of this internationally renowned organization and interact with World Food Prize Laureates, government officials, international experts in science and agriculture, leaders in industry and business, and members of local, national and international media.   

“This internship has not only given me real-world experience in a supportive, challenging and professional environment, but it has also changed my life perspective and gave me the opportunity to make a real impact in this world," said Mari Moroz, 2016 GWC Intern.

  1. Nina Ford | Iowa State University | Class of 2018 | nford@worldfoodprize.org
  2. Lauren Frank | Iowa State University | Class of 2018 | lfrank@worldfoodprize.org 
  3. Lisa Gerlach | Drake University | Class of 2017 | lgerlach@worldfoodprize.org 
  4. Kathryn Hays | Simpson College | Class of 2020 | khays@worldfoodprize.org 
  5. Allison Jamison | Iowa State University | Class of 2018 | ajamison@worldfoodprize.org 
  6. Katie Jurgenson | Waukee High School | Class of 2017 | kjurgenson@worldfoodprize.org
  7. Kayla Kaalberg | Iowa State University | Class of 2019 | kkaalberg@world.foodprize.org
  8. Jacqui Lowe | Iowa State University | Class of 2017 | jlowe@worldfoodprize.org 
  9. Paige Masimore | Drake University | Class of 2018 | pmasimore@worldfoodprize.org 
  10. Hannah Mezei | Drake University | Class of 2018 | hmezei@worldfoodprize.org 
  11. Katie Walther | Drake University | Class of 2017 | kwalther@worldfoodprize.org 
  12. Elyse Wheaton | Drake University | Class of 2017 | ewheaton@worldfoodprize.org  

ABOUT THE WORLD FOOD PRIZE:  The World Food Prize is the foremost international award recognizing the achievements of individuals who have advanced human development by improving the quality, quantity or availability of food in the world. The Prize was founded in 1986 by Dr. Norman E. Borlaug, recipient of the 1970 Nobel Peace Prize. Since then, the World Food Prize has honored 45 outstanding individuals who have made vital contributions throughout the world. The World Food Prize annually hosts the Borlaug Dialogue international symposium and a variety of youth education programs to help further the discussion on cutting-edge global food security issues and inspire the next generation to end hunger. 

Press Contact: 
Nicole Barreca, Director of Communications and Events
+1.515.245.3735 (direct), +1.563.271.2995 (cell), or nbarreca@worldfoodprize.org

###

© 2020 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.