The World Food Prize Foundation

World Food Prize to Present Dr. Norman Borlaug Medallion to USDA and Extend Wallace-Carver Fellowship Program


U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack and Amb. Kenneth M. Quinn, president of the World Food Prize Foundation, will hold a ceremony at 9:15 a.m. on December 7, 2016 to formally present USDA with the Dr. Norman Borlaug Medallion and commit to 5 more years of the USDA Wallace-Carver Fellowship Program.

In the past, The Dr. Norman Borlaug Medallion has been presented to King Bhumibol Adulyadej of Thailand; the Sasakawa Family and its Nippon Foundation of Japan; Kofi Annan for his leadership of the United Nations; the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities in the United States; CIMMYT; Texas A & M University; and most recently the University of Minnesota. Details about the World Food Prize Borlaug Medallion and a downloadable image of it are available online at

The unique Wallace-Carver Fellowship program provides a path for exceptional students who have participated in World Food Prize educational programs to have remarkable summer experiences in cutting-edge agricultural science at USDA research centers across the country, where they explore academic and career paths, and gain valuable hands-on experience, working with the best researchers and policymakers in the country.

WHAT: Presentation of Norman Borlaug Medallion and the Memorandum of Understanding Signing Ceremony between the U.S. Department of Agriculture and the World Food Prize to continue the USDA Wallace-Carver Fellowship Program.

WHEN: Wednesday, December 7, 2016 at 9:15 a.m. Guest and media are encouraged to arrive by 8:55 a.m.

WHERE: The World Food Prize Hall of Laureates, 100 Locust Street, Des Moines, Iowa

WHO:  U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack and Amb. Kenneth M. Quinn, president of the World Food Prize Foundation, will sign the agreement. Wallace-Carver Interns will also attend the event.

Press Contact
Nicole Barreca, Director of Communications and Events
515.245.3735 (direct), 563.271.2995 (cell), or

ABOUT THE WORLD FOOD PRIZE:  The World Food Prize is the foremost international award recognizing the achievements of individuals who have advanced human development by improving the quality, quantity or availability of food in the world. The Prize was founded in 1986 by Dr. Norman E. Borlaug, recipient of the 1970 Nobel Peace Prize. Since then, the World Food Prize has honored 41 outstanding individuals who have made vital contributions throughout the world. The World Food Prize annually hosts the Borlaug Dialogue international symposium and a variety of youth education programs to help further the discussion on cutting-edge global food security issues and inspire the next generation to end hunger.



© 2024 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.