The World Food Prize Foundation

The World Food Prize Hall of Laureates Welcomes Basketball Fans


Press Contact: Nicole Barreca, Director of Communications and Events
515.245.3735 (direct), 563.271.2995 (cell), or

The World Food Prize Hall of Laureates Welcomes Basketball Fans
Free tours on Friday, March 18 and Saturday, March 19

(March 15, 2016) The Hall of Laureates will be open to the public for the NCAA Tournament on Friday, March 18 from 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. and Saturday, March 19 from 9:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. Volunteer docents will be present to guide visitors through the building. ​

Guests can visit the "40 Chances: Finding Hope in a Hungry World" international photography exhibit by Howard G. Buffett, and visitors of all ages will enjoy the interactive exhibits on food and agriculture on the garden level.

There is no admission charge and it is a wonderful opportunity to experience this beautiful, historic downtown building during this great event - 100 Locust Street, Des Moines.


The World Food Prize was conceived by Dr. Norman E. Borlaug, recipient of the 1970 Nobel Peace Prize. Since 1986, The World Food Prize has honored outstanding individuals who have made vital contributions to improving the quality, quantity or availability of food throughout the world. The World Food Prize also annually hosts the Borlaug Dialogue international symposium to bring the world's foremost experts together to discuss cutting-edge issues in food security, and multiple youth education programs to inspire the next generation to study and work in fields related to global agriculture.

The Hall of Laureates, formerly the Des Moines Public Library, reopened in 2011 as the World Food Prize’s global headquarters. As a special tribute to Nobel Peace Prize winner and World Food Prize founder Dr. Norman Borlaug, and to provide an enduring foundation for all of the programs he created, the World Food Prize Foundation took on a $29.8 million capital project to restore the century-old Des Moines Public Library Building as the Dr. Norman E. Borlaug World Food Prize Hall of Laureates.

# # # #

© 2023 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.