The World Food Prize Foundation

Press Briefing: World Food Prize President, Ambassador Kenneth M. Quinn to announce recipient of Robert D. Ray Iowa SHARES Humanitarian Award



Press Contact:
Nicole Barreca, Director of Communications and Events
+1.515.245.3735 (direct), +1.563.271.2995 (cell), or

World Food Prize President, Ambassador Kenneth M. Quinn
to announce recipient of Robert D. Ray Iowa SHARES Humanitarian Award

(Des Moines, IA) September 22, 2015 – In recognition of Governor Robert D. Ray’s global humanitarian leadership, this Thursday, in honor of his 87th birthday the World Food Prize Foundation will announce and introduce the recipient of the annual Robert Dr. Ray Iowa SHARES Humanitarian Award.

WHEN: Thursday, September 24 – 11:30 a.m.

WHERE:  The World Food Prize Hall of Laureates, 100 Locust Street, Des Moines, Iowa, in the Iowa Gallery, Second Floor. (The Iowa Gallery features artwork by Iowa artists, all depicting Iowa’s greatest humanitarian and agricultural moments in history. One beautiful painting by Rose Frantzen commemorates Gov. Ray’s work with refugees. The Iowa Gallery is also the location which houses the “White Dove of Peace” mural referenced in Daniel Finney’s story in the September 22 Des Moines Register about Pope Francis. This may offer an opportunity for a second visual.)

WHAT: Press Briefing with Amb. Quinn and Award recipient

BACKGROUND: The World Food Prize Foundation established the Robert D. Ray Iowa Shares Humanitarian Award in 2013 in recognition of the exceptional leadership that former Governor Ray demonstrated in dealing with multiple situations affecting refugees in Indochina, and to honor him on his 85th birthday (September 26). In doing so, the award was named after the Iowa SHARES campaign, which the Governor created in 1979 in order to send desperately needed food and medicine to suffering and dying refugees from Cambodia. Iowa SHARES stands for Iowa Sends Help to Aid Refugees and End Starvation. 

The award is given annually to honor an Iowan who has provided significant leadership in confronting hunger and alleviating human suffering, both at home and abroad. The award will be formally presented to the recipient at the Iowa Hunger Summit Luncheon on October 13 in Des Moines.

DETAILS:  Please arrive between 11:00 and 11:15 a.m. and use the East Riverwalk Entrance. On site, please contact Nicole Barreca with any questions, at 563-271-2995.

ABOUT THE WORLD FOOD PRIZE:  The World Food Prize is the foremost international award recognizing the achievements of individuals who have advanced human development by improving the quality, quantity or availability of food in the world. The Prize was founded in 1986 by Dr. Norman E. Borlaug, recipient of the 1970 Nobel Peace Prize. Since then, the World Food Prize has honored 41 outstanding individuals who have made vital contributions throughout the world. The World Food Prize annually hosts the Borlaug Dialogue international symposium and a variety of youth education programs to help further the discussion on cutting-edge global food security issues and inspire the next generation to end hunger. Press credentials for covering the October World Food Prize Week of events can be requested at



© 2024 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.