The World Food Prize Foundation

Mashal Husain Named Vice President of The World Food Prize Foundation

Des Moines, Iowa (Jan. 6, 2014) – The World Food Prize Foundation has named Mashal Husain as its Vice President.
 Mashal Husain
In making this announcement, Amb. Kenneth M. Quinn, President of the World Food Prize, said:

“Our organization has grown significantly over the past several years in the scope and size of our programs, and thus needs the type of direction and coordination that a vice president can provide. Mashal is a superb professional who has demonstrated that she is an exceptional and proven manager. Having worked closely with her over the past five years, especially as an invaluable partner in the restoration and transformation of the historic Des Moines Public Library building into the World Food Prize Hall of Laureates, I have the utmost confidence in Mashal’s ability to handle these new broader responsibilities, particularly as we work together in the coming years to build upon the legacies of Norman Borlaug and John Ruan, Sr.”
Ms. Husain has been the organization’s Director of Development and Finance since September 2008. She oversaw and managed the $30 million renovation of the historic Des Moines Public Library building, which is now the World Food Prize global headquarters, the Dr. Norman E. Borlaug Hall of Laureates. In her new position, she will direct the administration and operation of the Hall of Laureates as well as serve as chief of staff for the planning and implementation of all annual World Food Prize events.
Raised in Pakistan, Tanzania, Thailand and the Philippines, Ms. Husain brings an international background and perspective to her role at the World Food Prize Foundation. 
“It has been a great honor and pleasure to be part of a global organization that annually draws people from over 65 countries to Des Moines who are passionate about international food security issues – the work is incredibly meaningful and inspiring,” Ms. Husain said.
Ms. Husain earned her Bachelor of Arts from the University of Texas at Austin and her Masters in Healthcare Administration from Cornell University where she earned the Sloan Faculty Award for outstanding achievement. Following her Masters, in 1996, she completed a post-graduate Fellowship in Hospital Administration at Northwestern Memorial Hospital in Chicago.
Upon moving to Des Moines in 1999, Ms. Husain worked for Principal Financial Group and Blank Children’s Hospital before joining the World Food Prize Foundation in 2008.
Alongside her career, Ms. Husain has been committed to the local Des Moines community and has served on the Board of Directors for United Way of Central Iowa and Habitat for Humanity. She was also a part of the 2004-05 Greater Des Moines Leadership Institute (GDMLI) and a 2006 recipient of the “Forty Under 40” award, recognizing rising leaders in the community (under the age of 40) for their professional achievement and civic leadership.
ABOUT THE WORLD FOOD PRIZE:  The World Food Prize is the foremost international award recognizing the achievements of individuals who have advanced human development by improving the quality, quantity or availability of food in the world. The Prize was founded in 1986 by Dr. Norman E. Borlaug, recipient of the 1970 Nobel Peace Prize. Since then, the World Food Prize has honored outstanding individuals who have made vital contributions throughout the world. Thirty-nine laureates have been recognized from Bangladesh, Belgium, Brazil, China, Denmark, Ethiopia, Ghana, India, Israel, Mexico, Sierra Leone, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, the United Nations and the United States. The World Food Prize also annually hosts the Borlaug Dialogue international symposium, and several youth education programs including the Global Youth Institute and Borlaug-Ruan International Internship to inspire the next generation to explore careers in agriculture and fighting hunger.
# # #
Press Contact: : For more information, please contact Megan Forgrave, Director of Communications, at 515.245.3794 (direct), or via email.


© 2023 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.