The World Food Prize Foundation

National Media Invited to Attend Exclusive New Year's Eve Event at the World Food Prize Hall of Laureates


 Event welcomes political media covering the Iowa Caucuses

The World Food Prize Hall of Laureates
The historic skylight in the rotunda, and new murals dedicated to the story of Dr. Norman Borlaug, agriculture and the
fight against hunger
DES MOINES, IA – Local partners and businesses have come together to host “Raucous Before The Caucus” on New Year’s Eve at the new World Food Prize Hall of Laureates building on Saturday, December 31, 2011.
This private event is for credentialed media and sponsors only and serves as the second installment since 2008 when area partners came together to host “Raucous Before The Caucus” on New Year’s Eve at the Temple for Performing Arts. The previous event was well attended with more than 500 guests and was featured in The Washington Post, Politico and The New York Times.
“Iowa is proud to host the first in the nation caucuses. The event on New Year’s Eve is an opportunity to showcase Iowa and what makes Iowa great,” said Governor of Iowa, Terry Branstad.
Entertainment will be provided by local band Flipside. All food and beverage will highlight local samplings provided by Hy-Vee, Iowa Pork Producers, Templeton Rye and highlights from Bacon Fest. The World Food Prize will play host to the event, making this their first national media reception.
“The World Food Prize is pleased to have this event take place in our spectacular new Hall of Laureates, which honors Iowa native and Nobel Peace Prize Laureate Dr. Norman Borlaug, of whom the Atlantic magazine wrote--" he has saved more lives than any other person who has ever lived,” said Ambassador Kenneth M. Quinn, President of the World Food Prize.
The non-partisan, volunteer event committee consists of Eric Branstad of Matchpoint Strategies, Lauren Burt of the Greater Des Moines Partnership, Mary Cownie of the Department of Cultural Affairs, Christopher Diebel of Orchestrate Management and Tiffany Tauscheck with the Greater Des Moines Convention and Visitors Bureau.  
The event was made possible by the following sponsors; Bankers Trust, Meredith Corporation, MidAmerican Energy, The Principal Financial Group, Greater Des Moines Convention and Visitors Bureau, Greater Des Moines Partnership, Reynolds & Reynolds, LS2Group, Iowa Economic Development Authority, Blur Media Works, Doll Distributing, Hy-Vee, Iowa Pork Producers Association, Iowa Association of Electric Cooperatives, Competitive Edge and Casey’s General Stores. 
Credentialed media must RSVP at For additional information, contact Tiffany Tauscheck at (515) 491-9350 or by email at


© 2021 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.