The World Food Prize Foundation

Kofi Annan, Howard Buffett, Global Leaders Place Smallholder Farming at Center of 2010 World Food Prize Symposium


Borlaug Dialogue events will draw more than 1,000 experts and leaders from over 65 countries

Des Moines, IA, USA, Sept. 16, 2010 – “Take It to the Farmer: Reaching the World’s Smallholders” will be the focus of this year’s World Food Prize’s Borlaug Dialogue, held Oct. 13-15 in Des Moines. The conference, which has become one of the world’s foremost international dialogues on food security, is expected to draw more than 1,000 policymakers, industry leaders, researchers and other experts from around the globe to discuss the need to provide food to a rapidly growing population.

Speakers at the 2010 Borlaug Dialogue include:

Kofi Annan, Chairman, Alliance for a Green Revolution in Africa
Florence Chenoweth, Minister of Agriculture, Liberia
Nazar Gondal, Minister of Agriculture, Pakistan
Muhammad Rahimi, Minister of Agriculture, Afghanistan
Tom Vilsack, U.S. Secretary of Agriculture
Jeff Raikes, CEO, The Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation
Gregory Page, CEO, Cargill
Howard Buffett, President, Howard G. Buffett Foundation
Camilla Toulmin, Director, International Institute for Environment and Development
Pam Kohn, Senior Vice President of Global Food Sourcing, Walmart Inc.

The program will include a minister’s roundtable with Secretary Vilsack and the agriculture ministers of Afghanistan and Pakistan, discussions among high-level leaders on how to partner with smallholders, and presentations on the themes of land equity and climate change. Most significantly, over 60 farmers and farm leaders from around the world will share their perspectives on topics such as promoting entrepreneurship and innovation, overcoming constraints, preserving biodiversity, and the crucial role of livestock in smallholder agriculture.

Other events during the week will include:

  • The fourth annual Iowa Hunger Summit on Tuesday at the Des Moines Marriott Downtown, featuring a luncheon keynote address from Amb. Tony Hall of the Alliance to End Hunger. During the luncheon, an annual report will also be announced, including the total contributions of Iowans toward hunger alleviation and improved nutrition.
  • A Laureates Forum on Wednesday evening, free and open to the public at the Des Moines Marriott Hotel Downtown (NOTE: change of venue), featuring the 2010 World Food Prize Laureates David Beckmann of Bread for the World and Jo Luck of Heifer International.
  • The 2010 Laureate Award Ceremony at the Iowa State Capitol on Thursday evening.
  • The Global Youth Institute, drawing over 100 students from Iowa and 12 other states, including students who have returned from the international intern program.
  • The Laureate Lecture Series, bringing over a dozen past Laureates and experts to speak at colleges and universities across Iowa.

The Borlaug Dialogue is an international symposium that coincides with the awarding of the $250,000 World Food Prize. This year’s honorees, David Beckmann of Bread for the World and Jo Luck of Heifer International, are recognized for leading two of the most effective grassroots organizations leading the charge to end hunger and poverty worldwide.

A full list of events and speakers are available on this web site. Media registration is now open - the form is located here. All media must register for the event - please include your email address in order to receive the most updated notices and information.

ABOUT THE WORLD FOOD PRIZE:  The World Food Prize was founded in 1986 by Dr. Norman E. Borlaug, recipient of the 1970 Nobel Peace Prize. Since then, The World Food Prize has honored outstanding individuals who have made vital contributions to improving the quality, quantity or availability of food throughout the world. Laureates have been recognized from Bangladesh, Brazil, China, Denmark, Ethiopia, India, Mexico, Sierra Leone, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, the United Nations and the United States. In 1990, Des Moines businessman and philanthropist John Ruan assumed sponsorship of The Prize and established The World Food Prize Foundation, located in Des Moines, Iowa.


© 2024 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.