The World Food Prize Foundation

Third Annual Hoover-Wallace Dinner Honors John Deere


2006 Hoover-Wallace Dinner

The Third Annual Hoover-Wallace Dinner, held at the Park Place Event Centre in Cedar Falls, attracted over 500 people including the top political leaders of Iowa.

The focus of the dinner was to celebrate the legacy of John Deere. Mr. Robert W. Lane (left), chairman and chief executive officer of Deere & Company, was the special guest of honor. Lane delivered the keynote address, "John Deere and Iowa: Prospering in a Global Economy," the full text of which is available here.

Also participating at the event were Iowa Governor Tom Vilsack, Senators Charles Grassley and Tom Harkin, U.S. Rep. Leonard Boswell and U.S. Rep. Jim Nussle.

The Hoover-Wallace Dinner is the only event in Iowa to be co-sponsored by the entire Iowa congressional delegation, all state legislative leaders and top state officials.

The dinner raised over $65,000 to support the Borlaug-Ruan International Internship Program, which sends Iowa high school students on eight-week, all-expense-paid assignments to work with renowned scientists at leading international agricultural research institutes in Asia, Africa and Latin America.

The Hoover-Wallace Dinner was established in 2004 to recognize Iowa’s humanitarian leaders and honor Iowa’s humanitarian heritage. This theme is exemplified by the historic achievements of two native Iowans: former President Herbert Hoover for his role in delivering food to Europe during World War I, saving hundreds of millions of people from starvation; and former Vice President Henry Wallace, whose agricultural innovations increased food availability and nutrition for millions of others.


U.S. Representative Leonard Boswell, Senator Charles Grassley, Governor Tom Vilsack, Deere & Co. CEO Robert Lane, Hon. Robert Ray, Senator Tom Harkin and
U.S. Representative Jim Nussle



More than 500 guests filled the Park Place Event Centre in Cedar Falls
for The Third Annual Hoover-Wallace Dinner

Please contact Justin Cremer (
for additional event photos.


© 2023 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.