The World Food Prize Foundation

World Food Prize to accept nominations online



Ambassador Kenneth Quinn, President of the World Food Prize Foundation, announced today that the organization will begin accepting nominations for its $250,000 award via a secure, online system this October.

Nominations for the 2007 Prize are welcome beginning October 16, World Food Day. The deadline for submitting 2007 nominations is March 1.

The Des Moines-based World Food Prize is the foremost international award recognizing achievements of individuals who have advanced human development through food and agriculture.

Nominations for the Prize may be submitted by academic institutions, private or public organizations, and government agencies. Individuals nominated for the Prize must be shown to have a made an exceptionally significant achievement that increased the quantity, quality or availability of food for a considerable number of people.

Now celebrating its Twentieth Anniversary, the World Food Prize has been awarded to Laureates from India, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United Nations, Cuba, Bangladesh, Sierra Leone, China, Denmark, Mexico and the United States. The 2006 World Food Prize will be presented at the Iowa State Capitol in Des Moines on October 19 to Dr. A. Colin McClung of the United States and Mr. Edson Lobato and Mr. Alysson Paolinelli, both of Brazil.

The World Food Prize was founded by 1970 Nobel Peace Prize Laureate Dr. Norman E. Borlaug. Borlaug, who is often referred to as the “Father of the Green Revolution,” is thought to have saved more than a billion lives by developing high-yielding wheat varieties adapted to environments in India and Mexico that were unsuitable for traditional wheat strains.

For more information please contact Judith Pim by email at or phone at (515) 245-3796, or visit us online at

© 2023 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.