The World Food Prize Foundation

Laureate Announcement

World Food Prize Laureate Announcement

2024 Laureate Announcement - Watch Live  2024 Event Details

Each Spring, beginning in 2004, the World Food Prize has been privileged to announce the name of the recipient of its $500,000 award in a ceremony at the U.S. State Department in Washington, D.C.

A succession of Secretaries of State have taken part in the Laureate Announcement Ceremony, beginning with Secretary Colin Powell and including Secretaries Hillary Clinton, John Kerry, Michael R. Pompeo and Antony Blinken. Other Cabinet and Senior U.S. Government participants have been Secretaries of Agriculture Ann Veneman, and Tom Vilsack and USAID Administrators Andrew Natsios, Rajiv Shah and Gayle Smith

Held most often in the elegant Benjamin Franklin Ballroom on the eight floor of the State Department, the ceremony is regularly attended by over 300 ambassadors, diplomats, members of Congress, representatives of international organizations and development agencies and business leaders. 

© 2024 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.