The World Food Prize Foundation

The World Food Prize Selects 14 Students for Its Prestigious Internship Program

05/30/2018

The World Food Prize Foundation announced today the selection of the Summer 2018 George Washington Carver (GWC) Interns. Each academic semester and summer, a group of highly qualified undergraduate and graduate students is chosen for this unique program, which allows interns to take significant responsibility in planning and executing a wide range of the Foundation’s projects.

“Through my time at the World Food Prize Foundation, it made my passion much more solid. I was able to work for a non-profit that listened to my ideas and thoughts,” said Katelyn O’Hare-Hayes, a previous GWC Intern. “I never felt like ‘just an intern’ rather, a valued member of the World Food Prize Foundation, even though it was just for a summer. This internship has shaped my career goals as well as given me a chance to learn more about myself and where I want my future to go."

Fourteen interns from Berry College, Carleton College, Drake University, Emory University, Georgetown University, Iowa State University, Lawrence University and the University of Iowa will learn first-hand about operating an international non-profit organization and the international fight against hunger, malnutrition and poverty. With the help of one-on-one mentors, the GWC interns will play an integral role in the Foundation’s communications, educational programming, event planning, archives and more.

The Foundation is now seeking applications for Fall 2018 GWC interns. More information about the George Washington Carver Internship can be found at www.worldfoodprize.org/gwcintern.

“Interns at the World Food Prize play an absolutely indispensable role in the planning and implementation of all World Food Prize programs,” said Ambassador Kenneth M. Quinn, president of the World Food Prize Foundation. “The success of our upcoming Borlaug Dialogue symposium, youth education programs, and Laureate Announcement is dependent on their input and performance.”


Summer 2018 George Washington Carver Interns

  1. Carmen Angel | Berry College | Class of 2020 | cangel@worldfoodprize.org

  2. Elizabeth Ash | Georgetown University | Class of 2021 | eash@worldfoodprize.org

  3. Sarah Bair | Emory University | Class of 2019 | sbair@worldfoodprize.org

  4. Molly Doruska | Lawrence University | Class of 2019 | mdoruska@worldfoodprize.org

  5. Annie Edelman | Iowa State University | Class of 2018 | aedelman@worldfoodprize.org

  6. Nick Ellis | Drake University | Class of 2021 | nellis@worldfoodprize.org

  7. Amy Huynh | Iowa State University | Class of 2019 | ahuynh@worldfoodprize.org

  8. Kaylen Luttenegger | University of Iowa | Class of 2020 | kluttenegger@worldfoodprize.org

  9. Sydney Maras | Iowa State University | Class of 2019 | smaras@worldfoodprize.org

  10. Kathleen McCracken | Drake University | Class of 2021 | kmccracken@worldfoodprize.org

  11. Hannah Schlueter | Iowa State University | Class of 2018 | hschlueter@worldfoodprize.org

  12. Jazlyn Talley | Iowa State University | Class of 2020 | jtalley@worldfoodprize.org

  13. Madeline Topf | Carleton College | Class of 2018 | mtopf@worldfoodprize.org

  14. Melanie Van Horn | Iowa State University | Class of 2020 | mvanhorn@worldfoodprize.org

ABOUT THE WORLD FOOD PRIZE: The World Food Prize is the foremost international award recognizing the achievements of individuals who have advanced human development by improving the quality, quantity or availability of food in the world. The Prize was founded in 1986 by Dr. Norman E. Borlaug, recipient of the 1970 Nobel Peace Prize. Since then, the World Food Prize has honored 46 outstanding individuals who have made vital contributions throughout the world. The World Food Prize annually hosts the Borlaug Dialogue international symposium and a variety of youth education programs to help further the discussion on cutting-edge global food security issues and inspire the next generation to end hunger.

Press Contact:
Nicole Barreca, Director of Communications and Events
+1.515.245.3735(direct) +1.563.271.2995(cell), or nbarreca@worldfoodprize.org

###

© 2018 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.