The World Food Prize Foundation

Awards & Nominations

The World Food Prize

العربية   中文   Español   Français   Pусский

Nomination Procedure    Submit a Nomination    Contact Secretariat

The World Food Prize is the foremost international award recognizing the accomplishments of individuals who have advanced human development by improving the quality, quantity, or availability of food in the world.

The World Food Prize is a $250,000 award formally presented at the Laureate Award Ceremony in mid-October, on or around World Food Day, in conjunction with the Borlaug Dialogue international symposium.
Nominations are sought of an individual or individuals having demonstrated exceptional achievement in any field involved in enhancing food production and distribution and increasing food availability and accessibility to those most in need. Any academic or research institution, private or public organization, corporate entity, or governmental unit may submit a nomination for the World Food Prize until May 1. Click here to learn more.

The Norman Borlaug Award for Field Research and Application

Endowed by The Rockefeller Foundation, this is a $10,000 award to be presented annually to a young extension worker, research scientist, development professional or other individual who best emulates the dedication, perseverance, and innovation demonstrated by Dr. Norman Borlaug while working in the field with farmers in Mexico in the 1940s and '50s. The award will be presented every October in Des Moines, Iowa, by the World Food Prize Foundation.
This award will recognize exceptional, science-based achievement in international agriculture and food production by an individual under 40 who has clearly demonstrated intellectual courage, stamina, and determination in the fight to eliminate global hunger and poverty.
The award will honor an individual who is working closely and directly “in the field” or at the production or processing level with farmers, animal herders, fishers or others in rural communities, in any discipline or enterprise across the entire food production, processing, and distribution chain. Nominations will be accepted through June 15. Click here to learn more.



The World Food Prize and the Norman Borlaug Award for Field Research and Application are implemented solely by the World Food Prize Foundation. Inquiries about any aspect of these nomination and selection processes should be directed to:

Ellen Franzenburg
Director of Awards and Lectures
World Food Prize Foundation
100 Locust Street
Des Moines, Iowa, 50309 USA
+1 515-245-3793 (Office Phone)

© 2022 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.