The World Food Prize Foundation

2010 - 2017 Laureates

2015 | Sir Fazle Hasan Abed


Sir Fazle Hasan Abed of Bangladesh, the internationally renowned founder and chairperson of BRAC, will be honored as the 2015 World Food Prize Laureate for his unparalleled achievement in building a unique, integrated development organization that many have hailed as the most effective anti-poverty organization in the world...more

2014 | Dr. Sanjaya Rajaram


The eminent plant scientist Dr. Sanjaya Rajaram, born in India and a citizen of Mexico, will be honored as the 2014 World Food Prize Laureate for his scientific research that led to a prodigious increase in world wheat production – by more than 200 million tons – building upon the successes of the Green Revolution...more

2013 | Dr. Marc Van Montagu, Dr. Mary-Dell Chilton, and Dr. Robert T. Fraley

Belgium, United States, United States

Three distinguished scientists will share the 2013 World Food Prize for their independent, individual...more

2012 | Dr. Daniel Hillel


The 2012 World Food Prize will be awarded to Dr. Daniel Hillel for conceiving and implementing a radically new mode of bringing water to crops i­­n arid and dry land regions - known as “micro-irrigation.”Dr. Hillel’s pioneering scientific work in Israel...more

2011 | John Agyekum Kufuor & Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva

Ghana & Brazil

John Agyekum Kufuor and Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva have been chosen to jointly receive the 2011 World Food Prize for their personal commitment and visionary leadership while serving as the presidents of Ghana and of Brazil...more

2010 | Dr. David Beckmann & Jo Luck

United States

David Beckmann and Jo Luck are receiving the 2010 World Food Prize for their landmark achievements in building Bread for the World and Heifer International into two of ...more

© 2020 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.