The World Food Prize Foundation

2006 Ceremony

The 2006 World Food Prize Laureate Award Ceremony for Laureates Edson Lobato, A. Colin McClung and 
Alysson Paolinelli

The 2006 World Food Prize was awarded to Mr. Edson Lobato, Dr. A. Colin McClung and H.E. Alysson Paolinelli on October 19 in the House Chamber of the Iowa State Capitol in Des Moines.

Attended by dignitaries and experts  from more than 66 countries, the Laureate Award Ceremony was an spectacular celebration of the Twentieth Anniversary of the World Food Prize.

The evening was highlighted by the world premiere of the World Food Prize commissioned choral piece "The Laureate Call," with text by Ben and Julianne Allaway, music by Ben Allaway and made possible by the generous support of Arthur Neis.

Other performers at the ceremony were Iowa musicians Maurita Murphy Mead and Juan Tony Guzman, Brazilian twin brothers and renowned classical violinists Wagner and Walter Caldas, and a special performance of John Denver's "All This Joy," performed by the Iowa Youth Chorus under director Kristen Stanton. (Learn more about the performers)

H.E. Virasakdi Futrakul of Thailand, Hon. Tom Harkin and Hon. Sally Pederson were among the featured speakers at the ceremony. (See complete program of events)

© 2016 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.