## A MESSAGE TO MUHAMMAD YUNUS 2006 NOBEL PEACE PRIZE LAUREATE

We, your fellow World Food Prize Laureates, take enormous pride that you have been named the 2006 Nobel Peace Prize Laureate.

We greatly admire your accomplishments on behalf of millions and millions of the most poor on our planet. Your achievements have set an example and truly given those mired in poverty great hope for a brighter future.

We also take special note of the fact that the World Food Prize provided the first international recognition of your social and financial innovations in villages throughout Bangladesh. The photo from that 1994 ceremony in Des Moines includes you, Dr. Norman Borlaug, and Former President Jimmy Carter.

To have three Nobel Peace Prize laureates now associated with the World Food Prize, on this, the 20<sup>th</sup> anniversary of the founding, brings great attention to the work of all who are struggling to end hunger and lift the most unfortunate out of poverty.

Congratulations from all the undersigned World Food Prize Laureates:

Perry Adkisson United States 1997 World Food Prize Laureate

**B.R. Barwale** India 1998 World Food Prize Laureate

Henry Beachell United States 1996 World Food Prize Laureate

Catherine Bertini United States 2002 World Food Prize Laureate

**Modadugu V. Gupta** India 2005 World FoodPrize Laureate

Hans R. Herren Switzerland 1995 World Food Prize Laureate

Monty P. Jones Sierra Leone 2004 World Food Prize Laureate **He Kang** China 1993 World Food Prize Laureate

**Gurdev Khush** India 1996 World Food Prize Laureate

Verghese Kurien India 1989 World Food Prize Laureate

**Edson Lobato** Brazil 2006 World Food Prize Laureate

A. Colin McClung United States 2006 World Food Prize Laureate

Alysson Paolinelli Brazil 2006 World Food Prize Laureate

Per Pinstrup-Andersen Denmark 2001 World Food Prize Laureate



Dr. Norman E. Borlaug, Former President Jimmy Carter, Mr. John Ruan, Dr. Muhammad Yunus, Bangladesh Ambassador Humayun Kabir.

Pedro A. Sanchez Cuba/United States 2002 World Food Prize Laureate

Nevin S. Scrimshaw United States 1991 World Food Prize Laureate

M.S. Swaminathan India 1987 World Food Prize Laureate

Surinder K. Vasal India 2000 World Food Prize Laureate

Evangelina Villegas Mexico 2000 World Food Prize Laureate

Yuan Longping China 2004 World Food Prize Laureate