The World Food Prize

2014 Laureate Award Ceremony Webcast

THE WORLD FOOD PRIZE LAUREATE AWARD CEREMONY is held in the magnificent Iowa State Capitol Building in Des Moines. The ceremony rivals that of the Nobel Prize, drawing over 800 people from more than 60 countries.

The 2014 Laureate Award Ceremony will take place on World Food Day, Oct. 16, at 7 p.m. and will be webcast live below, and also shown live on Iowa Public Television.

This year's ceremony will honor Dr. Sanjaya Rajaram, a renowned wheat breeder who succeeded Dr. Borlaug in leading the wheat breeding program at CIMMYT in Mexico, then continued his career at ICARDA. Dr. Rajaram's scientific research and work with farmers has led to a prodigious increase in world wheat production – by more than 200 million tons. He developed an astounding 480 wheat varieties that have been released in 51 countries on six continents and have been widely adopted by small- and large-scale farmers alike.


©2015 The World Food Prize Foundation. All rights reserved.